DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Windows and Doors > Old house, door strikes frame

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 08:29 AM  
joemama

Default Old house, door strikes frame

Greetings all,

I bought a house recently so I'm now a master carpenter, plumber, painter, etc. In reality I've never done much home repair or remodeling and this issue has me scratching my head.

The door which goes with this door frame comes from the left of the picture as it closes. As you can see, the striker plate is nearly flush with the frame. As a result, the latch catches the frame and trim every time the door closes.

I'd like to come up with a solution that doesn't involve changing the door frame. So far my best idea is a custom striker plate that will cover the length of the trim, but I think that will look pretty amateurish.

Any thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 09:43 AM  
nealtw
Contractor

Liked 860 Times on 768 Posts
Likes Given: 1486

People do make them finding them is always a challange.

Extended Striker Plates : JMA Hardware, Handles, Locks, Hinges and more...

Old 01-20-2012, 12:24 PM  
CalRehabber
Invester / Rehabber

Usually this happens from the house settling, put a level all around..

Look for screws in the door frame, if your lucky they used em and you might be able to tighten up all around, otherwise try a sledge hammer to move the frame away from the door a little bit...

Old 01-20-2012, 02:16 PM  
joecaption

Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I must be missing something. What I see in that picture is a huge section of wood busted out that's not would the time to try and fix. It needs replacent.
Lots of times on older house there's so many layers of paint the door rubs, but that one looks like someone kicked in the door when it was locked.

Old 01-20-2012, 02:34 PM  
nealtw
Contractor