DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Painting Forum > Painting a wooden fireplace

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 06:14 PM  
ral419

Default Painting a wooden fireplace

Hello!!

I am a recent homeowner and teacher who is trying to keep herself busy in the summer. I have a large wooden fireplace in the middle of my family room and was wondering what you thought about painting the wood portion of it. What type of paint is good for painting wood, and any opinions on whether you would paint the brick as well. I would like to look nicer than it does, but not stick out in the living room, which is a pale yellow color. Any suggestions or ideas would be helpful!

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2008, 11:53 PM  
TaskBoy

I like your bricks especially since they are the "used" style. They add a warmth to the room. Once painted, you can never go back and if you try, it is a hassle to strip or sand blast them. So, IMHO leave the brick as is. I'd paint the wood. Try a sage green which is a complement to the bricks' red. Or pick one red tone from the bricks and paint the wood that to carry the color upwards. Get a few color chips and compare in your room's light.

You will need to sand or scuff the finish of the wood and prime with an oil-base primer (the finish is likely oil-base and latex will have a hard time sticking directly). If it is latex clear coat, the oil-base primer is still ok. Then use a latex-based finish coat (your choice of color). Satin, low sheen, or eggshell are subtler and semi-gloss or gloss will 'pop' more.