DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Decorating and Design > Kitchen cabinets vs hardwood floor

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2010, 12:35 PM  
emky

Default Kitchen cabinets vs hardwood floor

Hello all, this is my first time posting so I hope I am in the right spot! ; )

We are having a home built for us and the process will begin in June, so in the meantime I am preparing all the details as far as color, style, etc. I am pretty easy when it comes to this bc I usually know exactly what I want, so it doesn't take me long to make a decision. The one thing that I am having a problem with is contrast in the kitchen between the kitchen cabinets and the hardwood floor that will be in there. I like cherry-toned wood so the cabinets will be cherry stained maple. And the floors will be a cherry-ish color too. I am not sure which to make a darker shade (the floors will be hardwood throughout the main floor). I am thinking the cabinets should be a bit darker than the floor, but I just wanted some input so hopefully someone can help me out : ) The countertops will be a black granite if that helps any. Thanks so much for any advice!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2010, 08:38 PM  
slownsteady

Liked 80 Times on 71 Posts
Likes Given: 92

I hope you're planning to put a lot of light in that kitchen; sounds overall dark to me.

Old 05-06-2010, 09:02 PM  
emky

Yes, the walls will be a warm white tone..there will plenty of white contrast to make the cherry pop. I am sure what I am going to do is make the cabinets a bit darker than the floors so they stand out and so the floors don't drown the kitchen. I was just looking for some reassurance, that's all.

Old 05-06-2010, 09:04 PM  
frozenstar

Yep that sounds like a dark kitchen. Anyway, IMO, I'd simply prefer for the darker cabinets. Also, it should blend well with the wall paint.