DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum

DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Decorating and Design (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/f108/)
-   -   Opinions on Remodel Design. (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/f108/opinions-remodel-design-13081/)

jesselfout 01-25-2012 02:10 PM

Opinions on Remodel Design.
 
4 Attachment(s)
I've attached a sketch of my proposed remodel, it's an older home (1939), small 1400 sq. ft. split between three levels. Right now the space is divided up a lot, I'd like to put a pass through between the dinning room and living room, a bar and door in the wall between the dinning room and kitchen, and a door between the kitchen and the living room. Some people I've asked said they love it, some say it's "a lot of arches" or "a lot of doors" the wall between the living room/dining room and living room/kitchen is load bearing but the wall between the kitchen and dinning room is not. I tried just taking the kitchen wall completely out, but that would mean demolishing an additional wall.

Please no hate speech on my color choices, it's more for contrast than anything else.

nealtw 01-25-2012 03:26 PM

As you can see in other posts about cutting holes in bearing walls, I can,t stress enough to get an engineer to make engineering decisions. Making arches of different width will turn out much like what you have. They will all look different. Any place that you stand and see two or more they will just look wrong. I like arches but I would do flat top and rounded corners, they will look more standard.

jesselfout 01-25-2012 03:33 PM

Thanks for the reply
 
Definitely going to consult an engineer for the modification of the supporting wall.

If I understand you correctly, you think that, unless all the arches can be the same size I should instead do rounded corners with flat tops or prehaps just flat tops instead?

Thanks.

nealtw 01-25-2012 04:04 PM

Yes that is my opinion, but why not just go for the open look.

jesselfout 01-25-2012 04:37 PM

Please explain
 
So just remove the kitchen living room walls entirely?
Span of the of existing arch to the stairs is about 12 feet.
I guess I really need to get an engineer in here to see what's possible.

nealtw 01-25-2012 05:15 PM

For twelve feet he will want to check the bearing all the way down to the foundation.

jesselfout 01-25-2012 05:25 PM

Thanks for the reply
 
Gotcha, this wall sits on a steel ibeam which is in the foundation.

Jdmrenovations 01-25-2012 05:50 PM

Neal is dead on with the arches...they are tough to get right. First the openings need to be roughly the same size...they just look better that way. Everyone will naturally look at them...then compare them...then critique them in their minds...drawing attention away from the house as a whole.

Either way you decide to go, get a good framer and finisher, and make sure he makes some sort of template instead of just "winging it" They are tougher than they look to get right.

BridgeMan 01-25-2012 05:58 PM

I agree with nealtw--too many arch sizes really clutters the place up, making things look too "busy." Constant corner radii and common top clearance (distance from floor) is the answer. For different openings, they'll all still be different, but in a uniform way, if that makes any sense.

I helped design/build a buddy's house a few years ago, and came up with 3 different sized arches using the above suggestions, and it turned out great. I used the "floating stringline and pencil" method to mimic a natural elliptical shape for the middle-sized opening, then just copied that one's corner radius and top clearance for the other two.

jesselfout 01-25-2012 06:20 PM

Thanks for the input guys
 
1 Attachment(s)
indeed, they were too tough in sketchup, and that wasn't even real wood. We have a couple arches that are original to the house but maybe after we talk to the engineer we'll just give up on ArchFest '12 and go with the curved corners flattop. if it was just a simple arch it would be one thing, but I think the style we have currently is called ogee or a depressed/compressed tudor so it's basically made up of two sections of circles on the corners and then two arcs meeting at a point at the top... it's a real son of a gun to draw

1. Engineer to evaluate the situation.
2. Pay architect neighbor in homebrew for his professional opinion
3. possibly knock some stuff down

One question I have for BridgeMan, is can you link a video or a post on what your a talking about?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 AM.