DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Walls and Ceilings > After Removing Wallpaper, What to do about glue leftovers?

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2009, 09:06 AM  
Evil Scotsman

Default After Removing Wallpaper, What to do about glue leftovers?

After removing the wallpaper, (I have never done this before, usually just painted over it) how do you remove any glue that is left or make the wall smooth? I am dealing with about 80 - 100 year old plaster and lathe. NOT really interested in ripping the lathe and plaster out, but want smooth (at least as smooth as 100 plaster will allow)walls to paint afterwards. The reason I have never done this is because my fear of what I will find underneath the wallpaper, or more so what will be left of the wall paper/wp glue)

Thank You

To the world you are one person, to One person you are the World!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2009, 12:29 PM  
travelover

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I use a wall paper steamer to remove the paper - it seems to loosen the glue more than solvents. After the paper is removed, I use TSP cleaner to take off all the remaining paste. Then spackle gouges, as mentioned in the other post.

Old 11-03-2009, 05:46 AM  
Evil Scotsman

I have heard ALOT about this TSP, what exactly is it? Does it really work that well? I have never removed the wallpaper in any house I have been in, afraid to find out I couldnt get the glue off and then it would look worse that what I already have.

To the world you are one person, to One person you are the World!

Old 11-03-2009, 06:24 AM  
travelover

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil Scotsman View Post
I have heard ALOT about this TSP, what exactly is it? Does it really work that well? I have never removed the wallpaper in any house I have been in, afraid to find out I couldnt get the glue off and then it would look worse that what I already have.