DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > General Appliance Discussion > Bath reno




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2008, 09:54 PM  
carmar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default Bath reno

I purchased an 1910 house and want to fix a few things up...ok alot of things. I'm working on the small main floor bathroom taking out the tub, outside wall as well as the wall that had the light switch and fan switch on. The outside wall is lath and plaster with next to nothing for insulation. The other wall that I took down had the light switch and fan wiring wrapped around the water lines. I know that is not right but am I wise to take down all outside walls to increase the insulation and all the inside walls to inspect the wiring? I relaize that lath and plaster is the pits but how do I increase the insulation in the walls? Glad summers here!!!



__________________
carmar is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2008, 11:07 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Welcome Carmar:
No, I would not remove all the outside walls because you can blow insulation into the wall cavity for a lot less trouble and money. Neither would I strip walls to check the electrical, its working, it hasn't burned the house down, just be wary of it if you need to open other walls along the way.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2008, 06:02 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,037
Liked 119 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 269

Default Pandoras box.

Well, now you have opened it up. Welcome aboard.
I would like to know if your house is ballon framed and if your wiring is knob and tube before I put 2 cents worth into the meter.
Glad to help.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2008, 08:01 AM  
mpgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default

It is me carmar although logged under a new user name. Tried to logon today but could not so I started the process over...anyways I had to look up ballon framed houses and I believe it is and for sure most of the wiring is knob and tube. There has been some additions done to the old gal so new wiring and drywall have been used. There is some insulation in the walls but not up to the energy guys recommondations.

__________________
mpgs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2008, 04:18 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,037
Liked 119 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 269

Default Welcome ...again.

Hmmmm, someone erased your name??
Sounds like a job for the mods.

Any way, if you have balloon framing you need to install blocking at the basement to seal the basement up to the attic connection.
This will help with air going up through the chases in the exterior walls and when you insulate the blown in does not filter into the basement.
As for the electrical, I would have an electrician or three give you advice on your system. You have no updated stuff and no ground wiring.
And you CANNOT put insulation in a wall with knob and tube...then you will burn the house down.
And the insurance guys don't care for it either.
Let us know if we can scare you anymore.

No home is perfect, take it slow and just do what you can as you can.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2008, 09:39 PM  
mpgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default

What happens to the old insulation when the new gets blown in. My wife and bought this house because she fell in love with it and it was a great price. I'm a little handy and always want to do it right the first time. Anyways thank you for your information...still want to rewire and insulate then drywall so I can sleep at night.

__________________
mpgs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2008, 05:43 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,037
Liked 119 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 269

Default Do it

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpgs View Post
still want to rewire and insulate then drywall so I can sleep at night.
Sounds like you answered your own question.
If this where my home, and I was stayin a long time, I would do what you want to do.
Remove any areas you wish and start over. Install new insulation with Kraft faced paper. Save the trim if you can and get ready for a big mess. I don't care for blown in ,but to install it blown in insulation is usually done from the outside. If there is insulation already there, you would not be able to put anymore in.
Tear out the old stuff and recycle as much as you can with the wood. Do one room at a time so you do not get overwhelmed. ...And good luck.
Let us know more as you go,we will be around.
__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2008, 06:49 AM  
mpgs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks inspectorD...you are a great help as well as the others that have commented. I've started in the small bathroom on the main floor. Outside wall lath and plaster is off and the what ever kind of insulation it was is out. The wall that has the water lines and the wiring wrapped around it is down as well. Floor is up and the tub is ready to come out...don't need it. We are making the three piece bath a two piece. Next I'll take up the floor as there are water stains on it and replace. I'll keep you informed as I proceed. Thanks again...to my new family!!

__________________
mpgs is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2008, 03:05 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,037
Liked 119 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 269

Default Sounds great.

One thing to remember when changing tubs...make sure it fits through all the doors. I know someone who could not get a two piece up a set of stairs also. The took out the window.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2008, 06:45 PM  
hondadrv24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 188
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Wow, Sounds like a great project. I would definitely tear out and redo the wiring and insulation.

A tip for saving plaster and lathe walls while taking out others is to use a hand grinder and a shop vac to cut the seam between the two so that you don't accidentally knock out a chunk.

Good luck and please post pictures, we like to watch the progress. My project is the Finishing My Basement thread.



__________________
hondadrv24 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Bath Remodel nthe10ring Flooring 3 10-26-2008 06:31 PM
Help with Rotten framing bath floor. Aleusia Framing and Foundation 6 10-12-2008 06:13 AM
bath paint and shower surround rando General Home Improvement Discussion 0 06-05-2008 01:40 PM
"Master" bath remodel. Hack General Home Improvement Discussion 41 02-28-2008 08:54 AM