DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > General Appliance Discussion > Can't bake in oven and cook on range at the same time.




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2012, 07:45 PM  
LoneJeeper
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Default Can't bake in oven and cook on range at the same time.

We just bought a new gas oven to replace failing unit and it is pretty awesome, except for the fact that we can't bake and cook on the range at the same time. If the oven is on, the range will light but only about a third of the normal flame.

I did have to convert it to propane, pretty sure I did that right, and the valves are completely open. I reused the existing copper line with a new flexible connector. Is it possible this new unit uses more gas than the old one and our lines can't flow sufficient gas?

Thanks, LJ



__________________
LoneJeeper is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2012, 08:55 PM  
jeff1
Contractor
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 433
Liked 23 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Hi,

Make, model#??

Sounds like a regulator issue.

Did the old range have a built in regulator like the newer ones do?

jeff.



__________________

Appliance Repair Aid
http://www.applianceaid.com/

jeff1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2012, 11:37 AM  
LoneJeeper
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Default

Jeff,

I don't know the make/model from the top of my head, I'll get it when I get home and post up.

I have no idea if it had a built-in regulator. It is now at the scrapyard. What would it mean if there was/wasn't ?

__________________
LoneJeeper is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2012, 04:17 PM  
jeff1
Contractor
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 433
Liked 23 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Older ranges had a regulator inline and not in the range....newer ones are right inside the range....*If* the old inline regulator was still there and we now have a second on in the new range = poor and confused pressure. Failing that the new(er) range might not have been converted correctly ( esp the regulator ), or has a bad reguator.

jeff.

__________________

Appliance Repair Aid
http://www.applianceaid.com/

jeff1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
rewire receptacle for vintage range/oven retroJ Electrical and Wiring 4 09-28-2011 03:06 PM
Range Top Works, Oven & Front Control Doesn't? Mainah General Appliance Discussion 6 06-01-2011 04:25 PM
Choosing between 1- and 2-oven range ilyaz General Appliance Discussion 4 03-18-2010 11:01 AM
Range Cooktop Inoperable Oven Bob_Elnora Brown General Home Improvement Discussion 3 01-25-2008 02:42 PM
Kenmore oven broiler "bake element" bethany14 General Appliance Discussion 5 11-02-2006 11:42 AM