DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > General Appliance Discussion > generator has no power




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2014, 06:44 PM  
deadonion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: waterford, mi
Posts: 7
Default generator has no power

hi. last summer i purchased a returned 3750watt generator from home depot. i got it for half off with no warranty due to the return.
it worked great when the power went out for a few days, tgen suddenly their was no electrical output, though the engine runs great.
i took a look at it and noticed where the wires come out of the alternator, they werent run through a grommet. the vibration cut through both of them.
i put the wires together figuring it would work again.
no dice. it still runs but with no output.
what gives?



__________________
deadonion is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2014, 06:53 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,208
Liked 837 Times on 748 Posts
Likes Given: 1451

Default

You did check for fuses and breakers?



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2014, 07:18 PM  
deadonion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: waterford, mi
Posts: 7
Default

yep theyre all good!

__________________
deadonion is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2014, 07:53 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,208
Liked 837 Times on 748 Posts
Likes Given: 1451

Default

That's about as far as I can go, post the brand and model, so someone that knows this stuff might help you.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2014, 09:20 PM  
havasu
on permanent vacation
HRT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
havasu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern California, CA
Posts: 2,205
Liked 104 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

Best advice I could provide is to get a wiring schematic and check it all. It is possible that your stator is broken, but check the wiring first.

__________________
havasu is offline  
MarkWood Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2014, 07:42 PM  
generyak
Generators are my thing
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: White Lake, Michigan
Posts: 1
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default stator

Most likely the stator is open or shorted. When those two wires shorted to the frame the gen would have produced as much amperage as it possibly could have until either the wires burned up and lost contact with the frame or the stator burned up. your best option for troubleshooting, assuming they are stator wires, would be to use a digital multi-meter and ohm out the stator to see if it is open.

to do this you will need the schematic to find out which wires go together. if it is a 240v single phase generator there will be 2 power wires and 2 neutral wires. hopefully they have numbers on them, if so take the corresponding power wire and neutral and ohm them out. if it says infinite or open you might as well buy a new gen.

those portable generators sometimes have a capacitor that helps feed the rotor, if this is the case checking capacitance would be a good idea. If the capacitor top is open or leaking fluid at all that may be the cause of the problem.

The slip rings may have also over heated causing the brushes to crumble losing contact with the slip ring. if this is the case then no field would be produced and no voltage.

__________________
generyak is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2014, 07:47 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,208
Liked 837 Times on 748 Posts
Likes Given: 1451

Default

Generyak: Welcome to the site, drop over to introductions and intraduce yourself, Just hit new thread
http://www.houserepairtalk.com/f39/



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How to determine power requirements for a generator and other questions ilyaz Electrical and Wiring 2 07-30-2010 11:24 PM
Generator Cord and Inlet box 20A to 30A broadbill Electrical and Wiring 8 05-04-2009 12:02 AM
Running wire for my Generator SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 5 11-12-2008 06:02 AM