DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > General Appliance Discussion > Kenmore electric dryer blowing fuse




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2009, 10:22 PM  
capetish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Kenmore electric dryer blowing fuse

Hi
My Kenmore electric dryer app.five years old blows 30 amp fuse after it runs for half hour.works great till it gets hot,then fuse blows.Ffuses are tight and no bad connections in box .Could defective t-sat cause this.

Thank you( capetish)



__________________
capetish is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2009, 10:01 PM  
capetish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default kenmore dryer blowing fuses

re

checked voltage drop with dryer at high (Full of clothes) from panel to dryer,About 3 volts 238-241.
With amp probe on black lead 20-22 amps.
wire seems fine no change in voltage or current even when all other appliances on.
Did find a loose wire in box that shuts power of to dryer.
clothes went through cycle and shut off normally.Is that the proper way to check it

Than you for your help and any advice

Capetish



__________________
capetish is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2009, 11:15 PM  
Nestor_Kelebay
Emperor Penguin
 
Nestor_Kelebay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,844
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

No, I can't see how a thermostat would cause the dryer's fuse to blow. A stuck thermostat is only going to keep the heating element on. However, on dryers there's a high temperature limit switch that shuts off power to the dryer if it gets too hot. So, a faulty thermostat would be causing your high limit switch to shut the dryer down, not cause it to blow fuses.

Be careful around 220 volt ac appliances. Each of them will have TWO fuses or breakers in the electrical panel, not just one like regular household circuits. There will be one fuse or breaker on the black wire going to the dryer and another on the red wire going to the dryer. You need to turn BOTH voltage sources to the dryer off to work on it safely.

I would take the front panel off the dryer and look around the rotating drum for wires that may be rubbing against the tumbler. I'm thinking that eventually the tumbler would wear the insulation off the wire, and you could get a short to the tumbler drum.

Another place I'd look is at the heating element. Check that the heating element wire isn't coming close the metal chassis of the dryer anywhere.

__________________
Nestor_Kelebay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2009, 06:18 AM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 250
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by capetish View Post
re

checked voltage drop with dryer at high (Full of clothes) from panel to dryer,About 3 volts 238-241.
With amp probe on black lead 20-22 amps.
wire seems fine no change in voltage or current even when all other appliances on.
Did find a loose wire in box that shuts power of to dryer.
clothes went through cycle and shut off normally.Is that the proper way to check it

Than you for your help and any advice

Capetish
You are on the right track, check the current draw on the red wire also should be real close to the same (the heating element is the only part that is 240V so the motor will un-ballance it a bit) . If that loose wire was on the breaker that would have caused the breaker to heat up and trip. If it should continue to trip it could be a week breaker and would need to be re-placed.
__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2009, 07:14 AM  
capetish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Kenmore dryer blowing fuses intermittently

Thank you Blue jay and Nestor

yes I am care full around all voltages and would pull dryer plug before I check for frayed wires.

Let me explain a little further 100 amp service to square d to main panel

This main panel has fuses,and old one 14 circuits or so,not enough to have proper circuits.
The dryer is feed from a buss system (which I have only seen a few in my day) to supply power from panel to square D's to main 2nd third floors,
To a box which I call small sq d
through #8 cable to another small two fuse box to Dryer.I checked the line voltage and current draw to see if there was leakage ,but like i said all was fine.Before checking the current at the box feeding the dryer I checked screws hold cables in box.Black one was loose .I tightened it before I checked current and all has been fine so far .When heat come up to temp in dryer current will shut down to 3-4 amp (Motor running) which tells me t-stat is working Hope you can make out what i am trying to describe,not the best at typing.getting to old I guess.
This system I am going to replaced with a new panel that is up to code.
My grandson is in the military for a few years when he came back from over there he bought this house for him and wife and my great grandson (old sucker aren't I) here where he will be posted for five years Thanks guys if it happens again I will check out that dryer as you suggested Your a swell bunch

__________________
capetish is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2009, 07:54 PM  
capetish
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default Kenmore dryer blowing fuses fixed

Hi all
Found out what was blowing fuse in this dryer at least the problem.
After checking all wiring etc like you guys advised found no problem.
Here is what I found out,
When my grandson did the drying ,he could do up to ten loads no prob.
When his wife dried it blew fuse.
Believe it or not she was overloading dryer so much some times drum would not spin,and fuse would blow.Maybe something wrong with drum rollers or motor drawing to much current with it overloaded.It works fine with normal load.
Just thought I would pass it along.as it drove me crazy for awhile

capetish

have a great day all

__________________
capetish is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 07:47 PM  
hsperazza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

I'm new to this site so I apologize if I'm coming in with a slightly different question with a similar problem. My dryer works but does not produce heat. I have considered replacing the heating element but now I'm wondering if there is a blown fuse. Do I understand it correctly that there is a fuse in the dryer itself that could blow that would, in effect cause no heat to be produced? It's not a fuse problem in my electrical box because as I said the dryer works but no heat is generated.
Thanks,
Harold

__________________
hsperazza is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2012, 09:01 PM  
jeff1
Contractor
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 434
Liked 24 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Hi,

Fuses are in your house fuse box...some dryers ( no make or model# mentioned ) have thermal fuse inside but these do not look anytihng like a house fuse.

Q - My electric dryer runs but will not heat, what could stop my dryer from heating ?

A - Things that could stop a electric dryer from heating:

- house fuse or breaker ( needs 2! )... - heating element ... - burnt wire ... - thermostats ... thermal fuse ( not all models )... - motor heat switch ... - timer ... - selector switch ... - burnt power cord/plug ...

jeff.

__________________

Appliance Repair Aid
http://www.applianceaid.com/

jeff1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2012, 04:19 AM  
hsperazza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default

I have a kenmore dryer, I'll have to take it apart this evening and see what the model is. Where would I find the fuse?
Thanks a lot,
Harold

__________________
hsperazza is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2012, 05:52 AM  
jeff1
Contractor
 
jeff1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 434
Liked 24 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Kenmore is made by several different companies...model#?

Quote:
Fuses are in your house fuse box...some dryers have thermal fuse inside but these do not look anytihng like a house fuse.
-Some- common Kenmores...
http://www.applianceaid.com/wpdryer_how-to.html
http://www.applianceaid.com/whirlpool-dryers.html#four

jeff.


__________________

Appliance Repair Aid
http://www.applianceaid.com/

jeff1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
two rooms blowing cool air instead of hot wayneled86 HVAC 2 01-24-2009 11:27 AM
AC not blowing cold air max937 HVAC 4 07-31-2008 09:59 AM
Looking for a Kenmore lid switch Steve76 General Appliance Discussion 4 12-31-2007 08:21 AM
AC blowing out hot air nguyenb73 HVAC 8 05-22-2007 01:03 PM
Fan blowing, no heat Mike in NJ HVAC 0 10-15-2006 11:16 AM