DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > Computers and Electronics > wireless router=most range?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2012, 09:05 AM  
surfsalterpath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Default wireless router=most range?

anyone use any special techniques to throw your wireless routers range further?
researching i came accros netgears best:
N900
http://www.netgear.com/home/products/wirelessrouters/
and
using netgears range extender
WN2500rp
http://www.netgear.com/home/products/wirelessrouters/

always heard it was best to use same vendors.
Any better ideas?

Have not purchased these yet.
have been using the wndr3300 and am pretty satisfied
but want more range.



__________________
surfsalterpath is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2012, 09:32 AM  
Leo1981
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Default

dont know about any special techniques but i bought a cheap signal booster from ebay and thats being working fine for me. as for the routers themselves aslong as you buy a decent brand they are all pretty similar in regards to range, so i wouldnt worry about buying the best of the best.

hope this helps,

Leo



__________________
Leo1981 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2012, 07:48 PM  
toshfive
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 5
Default

how about just adding access point?

__________________
toshfive is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 07:27 AM  
isola96
Senior Member
 
isola96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lagrangeville, New York
Posts: 437
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

You need to get a repeater and put it the farthest part of the house this will take your signal and intensify it.

__________________
isola96 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2012, 11:43 AM  
tripflex
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I have the N900 I just purchased about a week or two ago. Works VERY well and the range is definitely an improvement. Netgear has used some quality equipment including internal "antennas". I purchased this device as it has the 600mhz compared to the slower versions as i plan on eventually upgrading to DD-WRT firmware once all the kinks have been worked out.

Look into DD-WRT firmware which you can use to flash older routers, you can then adjust the power output on the device.

__________________
tripflex is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-25-2012, 11:24 PM  
frankflynn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 25
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I'm a big Apple fan and I have the Time Capsule (wireless router with a hard disk that back's up all the computers in the house). And I have an Airport express which is a stand alone access point or a network extender. They work very well together for both Mac's and PC (or smart phones or TV's...)

__________________
frankflynn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-26-2012, 12:12 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,306
Liked 165 Times on 152 Posts
Likes Given: 91

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surfsalterpath View Post
want more range.
Twice the Effective Radiated Power will give you 1.4x the range, but if you ask for the ERP the vendors of these products may give you the "I don't know" answer.
The rebuttal is "I respectfully request that you immediately direct me to someone who does know the answer."
__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 10-26-2012 at 12:22 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2012, 08:16 AM  
Wraith_Daquell
Christian
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hallstead, PA
Posts: 6
Default

It's a little complicated, but much cheaper and more effective in the long run, if you use dd-wrt on two netgear routers. You can just buy two regular routers that are compatible (you can check compatibility here: http://www.dd-wrt.com/site/support/router-database), install dd-wrt, and set one up as a repeater or bridge. Works like a charm, cheaper, and you're not stuck with a useless range repeater... you have two full routers.



__________________
Wraith_Daquell is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
I need to know how to install a wireless home security alarm. donaldjerry Electrical and Wiring 3 11-17-2010 10:14 AM
Wired/Wireless Doorbell Ynothna Electrical and Wiring 8 11-02-2010 11:51 AM
Buying a Router cibula11 Tools 12 06-08-2009 08:12 AM
I need a router... TaskBoy Tools 6 10-31-2008 01:37 PM
Wireless Thermostats Kashka HVAC 5 11-12-2007 08:35 PM