DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Flooring > How do I hide the circuit panel box?





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2006, 12:14 PM  
sablescorpion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default How do I hide the circuit panel box?

Looking for someone with creative flair!

I just had my amp service updated. The problem is they installed a panel board nearly twice the size of the original, which means I have an even bigger hole in the wall. Anyone got any ideas as to how to hide/cover this? the original box was framed with crown molding and painted over. While it could've looked better, it was okay and vagely noticeable. I don't think that's going to work this time. I've been trying to come with some ideas and I got nothin'. A cabinet door maybe?....Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Bye the way this sucker is in the kitchen opposite any cabinetry so its out there in the open. Don't know who the genius was who came up with that!



__________________

Last edited by sablescorpion; 09-27-2006 at 12:17 PM.
sablescorpion is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2006, 12:58 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I've built several covers to match cabinets or other trim in a house. I have also seen pictures and paintings hung over the panel.

An electrical panel is never supposed to be in a closet or mounted behind anything that blocks access to it. But the rules get bent and nobody wants to see an electrical panel. Whatever you do, make sure it's easy to remove or open, that there are no problems accessing the interior of the panel.. make sure you have room to remove the cover!

Opinions vary on the legal issue of covering a panel, but in a house, it happens. Accessible is the key word. I build them large enough to expand with a few disconnect boxes, just in case.

If your cabinets are a modern style, you can match them closely at Lowe's or the Depot, they can order a frame and door to your specification. Then all you have to do is mount the frame to the wall.

Got to be several ways to hide it.

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
As of 2008 Icehouse General Appliance Discussion 3 01-12-2009 11:06 AM
Can I change a 220 circuit into a 110 and how? Tazman Electrical and Wiring 16 05-18-2008 09:17 AM
Panel or subpanel rjarrett001 Electrical and Wiring 5 02-14-2008 05:22 PM
Service/breaker panel capacity question... tenderton Electrical and Wiring 1 10-13-2006 05:08 AM
Remodel circuit usage skopper Electrical and Wiring 4 08-30-2006 04:59 AM