DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum

DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Flooring (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/f13/)
-   -   Next Project... Opinions... (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/f13/next-project-opinions-5195/)

jpeterson 09-04-2008 12:43 PM

Next Project... Opinions...
 
2 Attachment(s)
I have attached a couple of pictures of the fireplace in the family room. As you can see, the carpet is rolled up to the granite tile, with no trim between the tile and carpeted areas. Any opinions on what I should trim this out with? Thanks!

Jeff

Square Eye 09-04-2008 05:54 PM

Metal J moulding comes to mind but I really don't think it would look right there.
Really, the best option is exactly what you have, just a roll and tuck with clean, straight lines.

BUT

In older homes, there will usually be a hardwood moulding around the tile. Shaped in a sort of a T, the moulding laps over the tile on one side and over the carpet on the other. The carpet must be cut back or tucked under enough to get the moulding (bottom of the T) fastened directly to the floor.
I suppose it could be painted or finished in a lot of different ways.

inspectorD 09-05-2008 06:07 AM

Huh?
 
You mean there is no shoe molding under the baseboard at the tiled area?
Just match what is at the pillar, looks like a basic Brosco molding from here.
End it just as the hardwood was done.
Or you could just change all those little bottom pieces, one 8 footer should do.:)

If you mean the tile and carpet connection, good luck, there is no nice solution. Even some trim there will look out of place, I would leave it alone and work down your list.

jpeterson 09-05-2008 07:18 AM

Guys,

Thanks for the replies. The carpet guys did a nice job of rolling the carpet into the tile, so, I think I'll concur and just leave it alone. That whole fireplace mantel and surround was handbuilt (not by me), except for the pillars that were commercially produced. What was there before was terrible... just three pieces of case trim, and some really ugly green tile.

inspectorD 09-06-2008 07:46 AM

Ok
 
I think that is a very nice mantle you have, I would hate to see you pull your eye away from it with some trim on the floor.

So what's next on the to do list?.:D

jpeterson 09-06-2008 01:53 PM

Next project..... Crown moulding..... I have a bunch of strange ceiling angles, so, I definitely will be posting pictures for opinions and advice...

Square Eye 09-06-2008 08:07 PM

Ha-ha! InspectorD and I have probably seen your strange angles before. Daryl In Nanoose is also a good crown guy. Daryl and InspectorD have good pics in photo albums here, Check them out!

Rosesarered 09-16-2008 04:37 PM

I'm glad you decided to leave it as is. I think it looks great and any kind of trim would look funny there.

Daryl in Nanoose 09-16-2008 09:44 PM

I agree it looks real nice the way it is.

jpeterson 09-19-2008 09:11 PM

Thanks for the replies... new pictures and projects coming soon...

Jeff


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.