DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Flooring > Sagging floor

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-13-2011, 02:59 PM  
Andaura

Default Sagging floor

Hi everybody, this is my first post here and I am very new to doing home renovations. I'll explain my situation:

My wife and I bought a trailer a couple years ago and in one of the rooms that we don't use we ignored the corner that is sagging down. Now that we found out that our first baby is on the way we need to fix up the room and make it into a baby room.

The corner where the floor is sagging is around 2ft x 2ft. I don't really want to rip up the floor to fix this, but if i have to I will.

I can get underneath the trailer, but its not possible to get to the floor from underneath.

Also, we want to put down laminate floor once its fixed.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2011, 03:47 PM  
oldognewtrick
HRT_MODERATOR.png

Liked 408 Times on 341 Posts
Likes Given: 131

Congrats on the baby!

As far as the floor, get underneath and make sure the framing is not compromised. Then take up the floor covering, repair any damaged sub-flooring, install new floor covering. It sounds a lot more intimidating than it will be...(hopefully the floor joists are not bad, if they are you can repair them) Post pics of what you find and someone here will help guide you along the way to fixing this.

Oh, and to House Repair Talk.

Old 08-13-2011, 05:05 PM  
Andaura

okay sounds good. I'll start taking pictures and taking off the floor covering ASAP. thanks for the advise.

Old 08-13-2011, 11:52 PM  
BridgeMan

Liked 75 Times on 67 Posts