DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Bricks, Masonry and Concrete > foundation crumbling

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-20-2010, 09:39 AM  
head-first
Here to learn

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default foundation crumbling

Hello all, this is my first post.

I have an issue... the block foundation/basement wall around my house is starting to crumble here and there and leaving craters on the external surface. For reference, the home was built in the early/mid 50's and these craters were there when I bought it last September... I imagine that they have been there for awhile. Here is a pic:

I would like to know a long-term solution for filling in these craters. I want to repaint the wall once they are filled. The wall already does have paint on it and I am not sure if I need to remove the existing paint first or not.

I am new to the home repair game, and everything I have researched about the issue so far has left me unsatisfied and I still cannot decide what plan of action to take. And help/advice is appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2010, 03:40 PM  
head-first
Here to learn

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I've been searching, but still haven't found a similar thread here. Somebody out there has to have had this issue before.

Old 07-21-2010, 04:10 PM  
oldognewtrick
HRT_MODERATOR.png

Liked 327 Times on 275 Posts
Likes Given: 113

Usually when you see things like that it is from moisture getting in there and causing, spa-ling. Remove the moisture, remove the problem, fix the problem. You have to fix the moisture problem before you fix the result of moisture problems.

Post a pic of the area above this spot.

Old 07-21-2010, 04:45 PM  
head-first
Here to learn

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldog/newtrick View Post