DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Bricks, Masonry and Concrete > How to demo a stone fireplace

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2010, 08:25 AM  
JohnVonBarry

Default How to demo a stone fireplace?

Hello. We recently bought a house which has a very tall stone fireplace in the living room that is pulling away from the concrete block behind it. It is on a wall with a vaulted ceiling, so it goes from 8' tall up to 14'. These are real stones that were pulled from the surrounding land, not lightweight fake stone. So, there are many tons involved in this. I am a general contractor, so I am pretty handy and have the tools, but I just do not have very much knowledge when it comes to masonry. I am basically wanting to remove the stone SAFELY, then I will have a professional mason come and inspect the condition of the block and fireplace itself, and if it is in good condition, I will be refacing it with a flatter and less heavy stone.

So, my main question is:

What measures should I take in safely removing the stones to insure that the whole thing doesn't come crashing down? Thank you.

Last edited by JohnVonBarry; 12-01-2010 at 08:26 PM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2010, 12:26 PM  
nealtw

Liked 538 Times on 488 Posts
Likes Given: 998

cover the floor with plywood to protect it, build a scafolding and start at the top and chip away each stone. Just in reverse of how it was built

Old 12-14-2010, 10:17 AM  
SteelToeS

Default Stone

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
cover the floor with plywood to protect it, build a scafolding and start at the top and chip away each stone. Just in reverse of how it was built
Agree.