DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Bricks, Masonry and Concrete > Newbie needs help with concrete/stucco repair

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2014, 03:21 PM  
bluebutterfly

Default Newbie needs help with concrete/stucco repair

Hello all,

I'm a newbie DIY'er when it comes to concrete/stucco work, so am looking for a few tips. Attached are three pics showing the repair needed so you can get an idea of what it is and the size. This is on a typical 1960's ranch house. The previous owner left various types of concrete/stucco repair stuff in the garage but I have no idea if any of it is the right thing to use. Do I just mix it up and trowel it in? It's a somewhat indented area where the exterior has deteriorated down there at the bottom of the wall. This is part of the exterior of a detached garage wall. I'm sure it's a pretty basic repair and would like to fix it before it erodes more .....trying to avoid hiring someone for a job that is probably a basic fix. Thanks again for the assistance!

wall.jpg   wall1.jpg   wall2.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2014, 10:55 AM  
beachguy005

Liked 45 Times on 41 Posts

You can get premixed stucco patch and just hand tool the profile to match.

Old 04-23-2014, 11:53 AM  
bluebutterfly

Quote:
Originally Posted by beachguy005 View Post
You can get premixed stucco patch and just hand tool the profile to match.
thanks for the info - should I prep the surface in any way beforehand? and what type of tool is best? a basic trowel? is there a particular brand of stucco patch you think is best? the prior homeowner has several different types in his garage....thanks again for further info!

Old 04-23-2014, 02:47 PM  
nealtw
Contractor

Liked 813 Times on 726 Posts
Likes Given: 1400

How about listing what you have, someone might help you sort out what's usable.

Old 04-23-2014, 03:18 PM  
bluebutterfly

Quote: