DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Bricks, Masonry and Concrete > Repouring section of basement floor?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 10:28 AM  
gpo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Default Repouring section of basement floor?

Hi all...let me give you a quick rundown of what I am working with and planning on doing.

Our house is 100 years old...there is about a 12x6 section of the basement that used to just dirt floor...I believe it was the old coal room. My in-laws were the previous owners the house and used it as a rental. My FIL just poured some concrete on top the dirt floor..maybe 2in thick...just to make it a usable space. Well now I am planning on putting a small workshop in the area so I want to take out the old concrete and do it properly.

I have done patios before, but nothing indoors, so I am wondering what I should do around the perimeter where the concrete will be meeting the basement walls and edge of the existing concrete. I am planning on putting down a vapor barrier as well as a gravel base. I am just not sure how to handle the perimeter of the new section. Since it is a basement, will just basic concrete mix be sufficient, or do I need something different? Given the size of the space, should I groove it and use mesh/rebar?

Any tips or suggestions are appreciated. Thanks in advance!



__________________
gpo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 10:48 AM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,951
Liked 682 Times on 611 Posts
Likes Given: 1202

Default

I would expect any settling in the dirt so I doubt if you need any steel or grid, not that it would hurt anything if you want to put it in.
A layer of sand is easy to level and makes a nice surface for the poly to sit on. If the floor is close to ground level outside we insulate either the foundation wall below the floor or below the floor against the out side wall for 2 ft. Around the perimiter we use sill gasket stuck to the foundation with acoustical sealant. Never see groves cut in a basement floor.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 12:10 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,178
Liked 333 Times on 262 Posts
Likes Given: 127

Default

I always include mesh because that is cheap and strong insurance against cracks. I am not sure if you are excavating to get a level floor throughout. If so, I would use bonding solution at the junction of old and new cement.

Have a great project!

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 08:21 AM  
BridgeMan
Senior Member
 
BridgeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cottage Grove, Oregon
Posts: 731
Liked 66 Times on 60 Posts

Default

If you attach strips of preformed bituminous joint filler to the exterior walls, with the tops of them at finished grade elevation, they will provide a cushion to accommodate any minor settlement of the slab (should it happen) and also give you a guide for how high to place/finish the new concrete. You don't need anything special in terms of the new concrete, just a decent 3000 PSI (or better) mix will work just fine. A 4" thick slab will require just about 1 C.Y., so you'll probably be batching it yourself. If you use a prepackaged mix, such as Quikrete 5000, about 42, 80-lb. sacks will be required. Cutting the total pour in half by using a removable form down the middle will make for easier work as well as better placement/finishing access. Don't rush the finishing operation, and pour as stiff a mix as possible, since indoor placements always require longer for the bleed water to evaporate off.

__________________
BridgeMan is offline  
CallMeVilla Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Possible Classified Section bluerubicon08 HouseRepairTalk Website Help 1 10-15-2010 03:59 PM
Computers or electronics section? brandonriffel HouseRepairTalk Website Help 2 10-05-2009 10:52 AM
Can I remove a section of a wall? Chrisnj99 Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 5 06-24-2008 05:23 PM
garage section? LoneJeeper HouseRepairTalk Website Help 2 11-13-2006 09:58 PM