DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Bricks, Masonry and Concrete > Tips for cutting through stucco




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-25-2009, 01:09 PM  
Outbacker
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
Default Tips for cutting through stucco

I have a crawlspace with concrete foundation, and from there is the wood foundation. On the exterior of the house is the foundation, and above that is stucco. I need to run some wire from the crawl space outside to a receptacle for the deck, and am a bit concerned about drilling through the stucco to the crawl space to run the wire. My concern is the stucco cracking where I drill through, or worst a slab of stucco falling off the house. Any precautions for drilling through stucco, and I assume that I will be using a masonry bit.

Thanks.



__________________
Outbacker is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2009, 05:14 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,072
Liked 122 Times on 102 Posts
Likes Given: 298

Default Nope

You can start out with a smaller bit and work your way up, but that is no for sure guarantee.
Just take your time and you will probably be ok.



__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2009, 12:24 PM  
Outbacker
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks. I am looking at drilling up to 1 1/4 inch hole, and my next question is what type of drill bit would work for this job? Reason for so big a hole is so I can slide a PC tube through to run the wire. I have asked around and I am not getting a solid answer.

__________________
Outbacker is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2009, 05:47 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,072
Liked 122 Times on 102 Posts
Likes Given: 298

Default Stucco

Well, stucco is a masonry product, so start with a masonry drill bit. Then once you get past the masonry you may need a regular bit. If there is wire lathe, you will want to get through that before you change over to a spade bit for the wood.
Hope this helps...buying more bits.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2009, 05:48 AM  
yesitsconcrete
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 88
Default

trace your circle then drill using a reg bit,,, you want to make a circle of holes which'll eventually open up,,, in case there's mesh underneath, pr of nips,,, easy work !


__________________
yesitsconcrete is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Cutting new floor register holes - Any tips or tricks ??? dancour HVAC 4 02-15-2009 02:44 PM
Using stucco bullnose trowel? TaskBoy Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 0 01-05-2009 10:29 PM
Mixing stucco? TaskBoy Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 1 12-08-2008 05:15 AM
stucco JDenise Roofing and Siding 3 08-10-2006 06:20 PM
stucco skim coat? celine Roofing and Siding 2 04-17-2006 10:01 PM