DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Plumbing Forum > Electric WH - no heat?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2013, 07:14 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,219
Liked 353 Times on 278 Posts
Likes Given: 140

Default Electric WH - no heat?

Changed out an electric WH that stopped producing hot water ... Intsalled a new GE model ... 50 gallons, 220VAC, 30A circuit.

All connections done -- it has water. Checked for live circuit, proper ground.
Checked for current at the block inside the WH ... it is live.

NO HEAT being generated.

Ideas?? I am stumped ...



__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2013, 08:10 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,441
Liked 747 Times on 667 Posts
Likes Given: 1303

Default

Both wires have 120 volts to ground? One side of a double breaker not working?



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2013, 06:17 AM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 4,753
Liked 378 Times on 314 Posts
Likes Given: 123

Default

What about an adjustable thermostat set low? Just a thought. And did you try pushing the reset button?

__________________
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2013, 08:15 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,219
Liked 353 Times on 278 Posts
Likes Given: 140

Default

Thanks guys ... I set the thermostat to 135 by adjusting the set screw. Located and pushed the reset button, although there was no light (is there a light behind the button?).

I am going to check the lines with a clamp meter to check voltage on each leg. However, I did register current with a tickler on both sides PLUS I checked for current at the wiring block inside the WH and it was live on both sides.

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2013, 08:20 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,441
Liked 747 Times on 667 Posts
Likes Given: 1303

Default

You needed to check both wires before the switch was connected or turned on.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2013, 10:32 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,219
Liked 353 Times on 278 Posts
Likes Given: 140

Default

Thanks, Neal ... Before wiring the WH, I did check the separate wires for the presence of current but I did NOT curck with the clamp meter for voltage. That is where I am starting.

However, one would expect SOME kind of heating even with only 1/2 of the power present in the unit. The hetaing elements would be under-charged but producing some heat ...

crying-baby.jpg  
__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2013, 10:57 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,441
Liked 747 Times on 667 Posts
Likes Given: 1303

Default

If you have power on both, and no heat the upper element or upper thermistat may have a problem. What was wrong with the old tank?

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2013, 06:13 PM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 4,753
Liked 378 Times on 314 Posts
Likes Given: 123

Default

We'll... Got hot water?

__________________
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2013, 06:27 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,219
Liked 353 Times on 278 Posts
Likes Given: 140

Default

Sorry for the delay guys ... I do not work on Sunday.
I will be after it at 0600 tomorrow and on the line with the service techs. Will let you know how it turns out ...

Stand by ... News at 11:00PM or sometime Monday.

ainsley.jpg  
__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2013, 06:42 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 936
Liked 92 Times on 77 Posts

Default

You need to check the voltage wire to wire, not wire to ground. You could get voltage from each wire to ground and still not have 240 volts.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Heat Pump Aux. heat running too often. OIIIIIIIO HVAC 13 02-26-2012 09:13 PM
Thermostat says heat, but no heat vjf HVAC 4 01-03-2012 07:17 AM
Hot water heat: zone doesn't run unless another zone is also calling for heat operagost HVAC 4 11-11-2011 11:41 AM
Electric Heat Pump Vs. Natural Gas LifesPeachy HVAC 1 07-30-2011 07:07 AM
Electric Heat Pump & Programmable Thermostat John Greeb HVAC 2 01-09-2009 09:01 PM