DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Plumbing Forum > Low/fluctuating water pressure after power outage, pump issue??




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 01:11 PM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,215
Liked 352 Times on 282 Posts
Likes Given: 113

Default

It depends on how deep your well is and how big the casing is and how deep the connection is where the pump line connects. It’s just something I would try before I pulled it all up. As to checking voltage I’m no well pump expert but you can check voltage going out to make sure you have power going out of the house on the lines. That’s easy enough. I’m also thinking and the experts will chime in that if you disconnect it at the breaker you could compare resistance on both legs of the 220 and it could show an open leg.



__________________
bud16415 is offline  
dmaves Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 01:27 PM  
pumpguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Check the voltage at L1 and L2 either on the outlet side of the pressure switch or at the control box.



__________________
pumpguy is offline  
dmaves Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 01:34 PM  
pumpguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
If this pump is wired for 240 volt and you loose one leg, it won't run on 120 volts unless you have far greater problems.
You would be surprised. I have had them working that way for years. They just won't build enough pressure to shut off.
__________________
pumpguy is offline  
dmaves Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 01:39 PM  
dmaves
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

My guess is that its going to be something electric given the timing of the issues and a power outage as we got quite a bit of flickering of power prior to it completely going out.

__________________
dmaves is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 02:23 PM  
Speedbump
Water well etc.
 
Speedbump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Riverview, Fl.
Posts: 428
Liked 22 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

It's doubtful that a pump once set for 230 volts will run on 115 volts. Reason is, the other leg would have to go to ground to complete the circuit. I did have a Tait sub that the electrician wired for 115 volts. It was a 230 volt pump and the customer complained that it wouldn't run his sprinklers very well. We had the electrician go back and wire it correctly and it did a great job. It also made enough pressure to make it to 60 psi and shut off at 115 volts.

__________________
FAQ's
Speedbump is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 02:37 PM  
pumpguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedbump View Post
It also made enough pressure to make it to 60 psi and shut off at 115 volts.
A shallow well might make it to shut off pressure, but not a deep well. It maybe doubtful that a 240v pump will run on 115v, but it does happen.
__________________
pumpguy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 04:13 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,222
Liked 838 Times on 749 Posts
Likes Given: 1456

Default

Power surge damage?

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 05:18 PM  
Speedbump
Water well etc.
 
Speedbump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Riverview, Fl.
Posts: 428
Liked 22 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
It maybe doubtful that a 240v pump will run on 115v, but it does happen.
I agree, but one leg of the 230 volts would have to been burned in half and the side of the wire that goes to the pump would have to become grounded somehow, like against steel casing or in some very moist conductive soil to make a complete circuit to create the 115 volts to the motor. And like you said, it wouldn't make as much pressure as it could on 230 volts. We test motors all the time in our shop that are 230 volts with 115 volts. They fire right up. But if you put a load on them, they start to dislike it a lot.
__________________
FAQ's
Speedbump is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2013, 10:55 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,222
Liked 838 Times on 749 Posts
Likes Given: 1456

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pumpguy View Post
You would be surprised. I have had them working that way for years. They just won't build enough pressure to shut off.
It would be wired incorrectly to run on 120 would not just happen.
If you loose one leg, you loose connection to make the loop back to the other breaker. It would have had to fry a connection and then make connection with ground and or nuetral if one is there. I guess that could happen , easy to prove by removing one leg and then the other to see if it will run on one leg.

I would be more suspect of the motor running outside it's voltage limits for some time, a stressed motor may not be able to take the shock of an interupted cycle, when the power went off.
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2013, 06:38 AM  
WindowsonWashington
Junior Member
 
WindowsonWashington's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Washington, DC, Virginia
Posts: 198
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
Power surge damage?

+1

Just watched a neighbor replace a pump that was partially fried via a lightning strike.


__________________
WindowsonWashington is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Rinnai tankless water heater and a power outage rolltrain General Appliance Discussion 5 01-25-2013 06:58 PM
6 1/4 buss fuse blowing for water pump or pressure tank HELP!! chroniclivin Plumbing Forum 7 01-08-2012 03:26 PM
Partial Power Outage ianholtz Electrical and Wiring 3 09-26-2011 09:41 PM
Possible bad switch or outlet cause power outage in three rooms? Fiero2 Electrical and Wiring 4 06-01-2011 10:32 PM
Power outage, tripped GFI? naraiz Electrical and Wiring 2 12-24-2008 05:53 AM