DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum

DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Plumbing Forum (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/f33/)
-   -   Plumbing review (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/f33/plumbing-review-17668/)

Jungle 05-21-2014 07:54 AM

Plumbing review
 
1 Attachment(s)
No sure but occasionally i smell something like foul like sewer gas, seems to be in the evening. There was a bird down the vent last year. I pour a few buckets of hot soapy water down the vent from above, didn't seem to make any unusually draining noise that you expect if it was blocked. So i figured it is ok.

Can you experts review this plumbing photo. The bottom is to the sewer, the next on the left is the toilet, then the sink, then bend to the vent up.
There is an access point there i might try to get off? You can see on the left the metal, but it seems glued? How do i get that off, with a hammer? Or pour some draino down the vent pipe? Is this configuration even correct?

havasu 05-21-2014 08:15 AM

Please don't use any caustic drain cleaners. They only waste your hard earned money. If you do, and realize it doesn't work and need to hire a professional, please advise them that you used these chemicals so they can take necessary precautions.

Jungle 05-21-2014 08:21 AM

I would flush it afterwards with a few pails of water.

CallMeVilla 05-21-2014 08:42 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Ooops. Spotted it immediately. The San-T in the top middle is backwards. Should be pointing the flow to the right, not the left. Here is a picture for the proper orientation. You will be removing all that glued pipe to make the repair. For really clean cuts, use a power miter saw ... fast, clean and accurate.

oldognewtrick 05-21-2014 09:16 AM

Good eye CMV

Jungle 05-21-2014 10:26 AM

So your saying that would causes a problem with exhaust? Holy crap!

I guess it is sort of half works now? Or are you saying it won't work at all?
I suppose i need a new piece and maybe an extender i will lose the 2" insert. Looks like it can bend a bit. The circular saw should get through it, then the swazel.
Will i get hit with sewer gas when it is opened up?

havasu 05-21-2014 12:43 PM

A beer to CMV!

slownsteady 05-21-2014 03:07 PM

Did you say what room you were smelling the fumes in? I would take a look at the individual traps in that room first. That tee may be backwards, but you may want to look through the cleanout at the left before you start cutting. I suspect you could see a clog or something there if the tee is the problem.

CallMeVilla 05-21-2014 07:24 PM

Good advice, Slow ... I think I see a drain line to the far left, so the toilet flush is backing into that pipe. The back pressure could be causing p-trap "burps" now and then.

Either way, hack off the offending pipes and realign the drain system. Check your p-traps for blockages and snake the lines while you have the p-traps pulled apart.

Avoid caustic drain cleaners in the future. If they get caught in the line ... and then you cut the line ... you can get burned. I posted a story about a lady at Home Depot who was trying to find a plunger for her toilet AFTER putting DRANO down the drain ... OMG!

slownsteady 05-21-2014 09:07 PM

If you think about it, that whole assembly is a little wonky. It looks like the main drain goes off at floor level to the left, so why are all all those pipes above going to the right? Looks to be about 8 feet too much pipe in that run.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.