DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Roofing and Siding > Need advice on the best way to handle this please




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2012, 01:43 PM  
Tylersloan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Default

I do have access but it's a death trap it's right above the basement stairs . I would have to set a ladder on the stairs and I have a funny feeling the vent was just for show it's wired and I have the breaker shut off it started smoking the first time I used it .



__________________
Tylersloan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2012, 02:58 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,210
Liked 837 Times on 748 Posts
Likes Given: 1453

Default

The fan not working, may be the best news. You will have to find a safe way to get up there and have a look at the structure and if you get up there don't forget the camera. Your best bet is to talk to the local truss company. Take a few photos of the house and measure everything that you can see before you talk to them, then they will send you home to measure some more. They should be able to give you trusses that sit on the two wall and put very little weight on the old roof. Don't forget to tell them you want to raise the walls at the same time. My first thought was you could run it to the peak but that won't work with the other roof so you will need pictures of the inside of that roof too.



__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2012, 04:02 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,210
Liked 837 Times on 748 Posts
Likes Given: 1453

Default

This is what I had in mind.

imagesca3jh4wi.jpg  
__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2012, 05:37 PM  
Tylersloan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Thank you and that's what I had in mind in the last picture also

__________________
Tylersloan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2012, 02:41 PM  
Tylersloan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Will I have to redesign my valley with the dining room roof at all ? Sorry for the questions I just want to make sure the water flows right

__________________
Tylersloan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-13-2012, 09:49 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,210
Liked 837 Times on 748 Posts
Likes Given: 1453

Default

A truss company would design a valley set to run up that roof too and correct the valley to run properly.

__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-13-2012, 11:11 PM  
Tylersloan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Thank you nealtw I'll post up pictures as I go along talked with the man that is carrying my loan and he said go for it as long as it's done right that's all he cares about ,

__________________
Tylersloan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-13-2012, 11:54 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,210
Liked 837 Times on 748 Posts
Likes Given: 1453

Default

Take some more photo for them from different angles so they get an idea of what you want. The will need to know the height difference from the dinning room walls and walls supporting the rear main roof. They will ask for the heel cut on each roof, you get that when you look at the rafters from the outside. If you put your tape up the outside of the wall it is the distance from the top of the wall to the underside of the sheeting. They will need the width of the fron door area aswell as the bathroom and the length of both and the pitch of both roofs and they will want you to raise the wall for door area as well.
It sounds like a big deal but a weekend with a helper should have it ready for a roofer.
I would leave ceilings in place and do that work later when you want to gut the bathroom. And you still have to get up in the attic and check for rot and things. If it is just bracing that is needed you could do that at the same time by cutting out some sheeting where it will be covered with the new trusses.

__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2012, 12:25 AM  
Tylersloan
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Default

On the heal cut how much should I add for my siding ? Behind the siding is foam board looks 1/4 inch to me I just can't get my tape all the way to the studs I got ya your talking up and down not rafter overhang . I'm hoping I can do this for less than three grand but I doubt it

__________________

Last edited by Tylersloan; 05-14-2012 at 12:29 AM.
Tylersloan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2012, 12:47 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,210
Liked 837 Times on 748 Posts
Likes Given: 1453

Default

Just measure the outside and tell the the thickness to the studs as best you can. I would be surprized if three didn't get you close and if you do the labour. It's the unknown that will kill you every time.



__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Moss on lawn, how to handle? ccpyue Garden and Lawncare 9 08-10-2012 11:19 AM
How to handle wall problem? Jordi88 Flooring 18 12-28-2011 09:27 PM
converting a three handle shower to two handle sisyphus Plumbing Forum 3 10-13-2011 02:29 PM
Would appreciate help with lever handle dpedsea Plumbing Forum 8 05-09-2009 09:41 PM
Handle on flue of woodstove is wobbly lacnob Green Energy and Sustenance Living 1 02-08-2009 06:40 AM