DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Roofing and Siding > Roofing around hydro wires?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2014, 12:31 PM  
Jungle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 322
Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default Roofing around hydro wires?

I wonder if the power company would turn off the power. I guess not. The picture is deceiving, It is level will hydro pole there, so only 5 feet above the gutters.



File Type: jpg ABC_1514.jpg (39.0 KB, 21 views)
__________________
Jungle is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2014, 02:30 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

They are insulated and it's only 240v but if you want you can rent PPE.



__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2014, 02:37 PM  
Jungle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 322
Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

I guess the wire would have to be cut to be a problem. It will be the last, so hopefully i will be used to the roof by then.

I gonna have to rebuild that porch too. Think lowering the porch roof 6" is a good idea so the gutter can continue on?

__________________
Jungle is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2014, 02:48 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

There's the service head, the service mast and the service drop (the wire).

A plastic bucket with a slot cut in the bucket wall and taped to the mast will insulated the first two.

For the last, cut a length of PVC piping lengthwise and tape the two halves together over the wires.

This should insulate you against all but a direct lightning strike.

__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
Jungle Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2014, 04:37 PM  
Jungle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 322
Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

I'm not messing with that wire no thanks. I guess there is no point in asking the power company to cut it for a half day? I might get the roofer guy for a few hours to finish that part. There is bunch of work to do around there. I think i'll do up to the porch. I plan to do vertical sections. I got it all set up today i just have to put the harness bracket in.

What do you think paint that chimney with ? I suppose the flashing around the chimney can be used with shingles?

__________________

Last edited by Jungle; 07-31-2014 at 04:43 PM.
Jungle is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2014, 05:15 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,770
Liked 803 Times on 716 Posts
Likes Given: 1366

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jungle View Post
I guess the wire would have to be cut to be a problem. It will be the last, so hopefully i will be used to the roof by then.

I gonna have to rebuild that porch too. Think lowering the porch roof 6" is a good idea so the gutter can continue on?
There is a header over the window so lowering the roof will mean lowering the window too.
__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2014, 05:29 PM  
Jungle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 322
Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

I got a used window to match the front storm, double slider, for $40. Needs a little paint but an alright vinyl window. At least it is the same size 70"x45" that will be on the front of the porch.
The porch needs to be taken down and rebuilt completely. I guess the pitch won't matter that much. If the pitch is too low it will look funny, but it needs decent run off.. I think the 6-9" bridge should be better solution, means lowering the roof at least as much. Then i can have full gutter for the front roof. I can lower the window now to where i want.

I guess i need a 8' header for that window? Roof should be 2x6 at 16". Do i need hangers. I better do this right in case i get busted because changing the window size, but it is only a porch?
Anchor lag bolt to the concrete base with glue, plastic barrier between the frame and concrete?

__________________

Last edited by Jungle; 07-31-2014 at 05:39 PM.
Jungle is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2014, 06:41 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,770
Liked 803 Times on 716 Posts
Likes Given: 1366

Default

We seldom see a header less than 2 2x10s so you may want to jeck a span chart for 2x8s just to be sure and anything over 60" requires 2 jack studs under each end.



__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
max wires/box floatr Electrical and Wiring 3 10-26-2013 10:43 PM
Wiring 5 wires cooktop to 4 wires electrical box kimouette Electrical and Wiring 8 03-19-2013 11:18 PM
No hot wires?! Scripty Electrical and Wiring 4 01-18-2011 04:12 PM
rerouting wires daniel2229 Electrical and Wiring 5 05-13-2008 08:20 AM