DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Tools > Compound mitre saw

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2011, 05:00 AM  
Blue Jay

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 14

I have a Dewalt 12" compound miter saw, only a couple of times would I have used a slider.
My use was to build a log home.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2011, 06:49 AM  
TNTROY

Default Compound mitre saw

Hello first post! My question is i am looking to buy a mitre saw but i dont know witch to buy. I am looking at the dewalt from lowes but they have all different sizes. I want a double bevel saw but i dont think i want the sliding one. I wan to buy the one that i will use fore a long time the main purpose for buying it is to build a new front and back porch and other projects later on. help is dewalt a good brand? or would something else work just as good for less? I am a mechanic by trade and know nothing about carpentry Please help.

Old 05-22-2011, 06:27 PM  
gatorfan

I can't advise on brands, but I have a Ridgid 12", and I like it. I use the sliding feature all the time, especially for wide trim pieces (e.g large crown molding, exterior fascia). BTW, I bought a refurb, and it was in basically brand-new condition when I got it. I highly recommend that you consider one and use your "savings" to upgrade to a nicer saw. Not sure about the linking policy, but a Google search will turn up sources.

Matt

Old 05-23-2011, 11:53 AM  
TNTROY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Jay View Post
I have a Dewalt 12" compound miter saw, only a couple of times would I have used a slider.
My use was to build a log home.
Thats what i needed to know.. I think i am going to get the 12 inch double bevel saw..

Old 06-05-2011, 04:22 AM  
TNTROY