DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > General Discussion > Introductions > AC blower fan does not come on...




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2006, 05:36 PM  
kurt smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default AC blower fan does not come on...

I blew up my old circuit board on my AC. I changed out the old circuit wire for wire to the new circuit board. Now my blower that distributes air into the central air ducts does not come on. The AC is working 'cuz I can feel the cold air on me while I work on the circuit board. Anybody know where my problem may be? The breakers at the panel board are all on.



__________________
kurt smith is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2006, 07:41 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hi Kurt:
Check for power at the blower; if power is there and the motor doesn't turn it indicates the motor is bad. Turn the fan (or squirel cage) to see if it is siezed. Check the capacitor if there is one; unplug the leads and go from one lead to the other with your ohm meter, it should run your meter all the way over then fall back rather quickly. Bad blower motors and capacitors are common occurances; reparirmen carry a few of each on their van all the time.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2006, 07:51 PM  
kurt smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Ok folks I'm goin' out to work on it. What is a capacitor? What does it look like? I am hoping to fix it myself and save the 300 big ones they want to charge me to fix it. Of cource they know what they are doing and I don't.

__________________
kurt smith is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2006, 09:17 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hi Kurt:
A capacitor can be either on the outside of the motor or mounted in a bracket over to the side. A power wire will go in one side of a capacitor and out the other side. They come in various sizes; for a fan motor I would look for one 1-1/4" to 1-1/2" diameter and about 3" long.
I just re-read my last note and I need to clarify one thing. After you take the wires off the capicitor (with power off) touch your tester leads to the posts or spades on the capicitor. I sure don't blame you for wanting to avoid the $300 charge. I think that is one purpose of the forum; save money.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2006, 04:19 PM  
kurt smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default what happened?

OK, I got your capacitor answer after I started to work on the AC. I will do what you said. But...can anybody explain this. 1-my blower will not come on...so I pulled the fuse that is in the circuit board. The fuse looks like a regular car type 'blade' fuse. The fan came on and continued to run. So I guess I have power and a working blower. I replaced the fuse and the fan went off. I pulled the fuse and walked around for a bit, the fan was running. I replaced the fuse and the fan stayed on and the AC is working. I have the AC on for a test, but I will turn it off after a while 'cuz it is too early to be running the AC. Is my thermastate no Good? Why would the fan not come on without me pulling a fuse?

__________________
kurt smith is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2006, 04:25 AM  
PaPaDan
Member
 
PaPaDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Default

Sound like you were not waiting long enough for the system to cycle and turn on the blower. Taking the fuse out disabled the board and bypassed its control over the blower. When it did keep running with the fuse in place was because it was ready to run the blower.

__________________

Info For All- [url]http://www.hoistman.com[/url] I had amnesia once -- or twice :confused:

PaPaDan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2006, 05:17 PM  
kurt smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Ok. Also, what does it mean when the thermostat says "in recovery"? I now havethe AC on. The AC out side is working but the blower is not on and it will not come on when I move the thermostat to "ON" from "Auto".I can feel cold air in the furnance box. Did I hook up a wire incorrectly to the new circuit board? I changed out the wires one at a time to the new board. Which designation on the circuit board pertains to the fan? "HI or Lo"? "pr1, Line1 Line 2, Pr2, sec1, sec2, lim1, lim2?

__________________
kurt smith is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2006, 07:00 PM  
aceinstaller#1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default

fan should be set to hi for a/c. wires on t stat should be r w c g y and also correspond to circuit board.

__________________

Last edited by Square Eye; 07-18-2006 at 07:44 PM.
aceinstaller#1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-18-2006, 08:36 PM  
kurt smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default

Perfect. Thanks bunch.I will check all of that right now.

__________________
kurt smith is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2006, 09:17 PM  
kurt smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default

So for my follow up I will beg for giveness. I miswired the blue wire to the Gh stud instead of the Gc stud. My pastor,who is a AC repair man walked me thrue it. My AC now works.



__________________
kurt smith is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Amana Furnace Blower problem MILL123 HVAC 3 09-26-2012 02:02 PM
Blower Won't Come On Bob HVAC 14 12-19-2008 11:55 AM
A/C Question: Just replaced Fan Control Unit and now the Blower false starts cooling redmachodevil HVAC 0 08-10-2008 10:14 AM
how do I wire an inline fan to the hvac blower tomate10 HVAC 1 06-02-2008 10:49 AM
Blower motor appears dead RockChalk HVAC 2 02-04-2008 05:57 AM