DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > General Discussion > Introductions > I have a question!!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2008, 02:09 AM  
hopelesslyinept
ISO competence

Default I have a question!!

No, I'm only kidding. I figured I'd get the hearts of the 'regs' racing with the thought of another dumb newbie posting a question where it clearly advises against doing so!

Hi all, I'm a NEWB! I am a long-time forum-goer but it just tonight even dawned on me to find a forum for home repairs as I am faced with the *loverly* task of repairing a house before I can move in.

As my user ID suggests, I have absolutely NO idea what I'm doing. I am going to *try* to hire as much of the work done as possible however limited funds = me doing more of the work than I know how to do. As a result, here I am!

I have a small one bedroom house that was built in the, 40s, 50s, 60s perhaps? There was no indoor bathroom built in the house so at some point they came in and added one in the single bedroom. The problem with that bathroom was that it was probably 3' wide and maybe, if I was lucky, 5' long. Not a problem if you're a fairy. Big problem if you're an amazon. Not only that, the genius who installed the bathroom light ran the wire along the drywall rather than doing it right.

Anywhooooo...the house, while in town which is not ideal, is a deal I cannot pass up. Therefore, I repair. Oh wait, I don't repair BECAUSE I DON'T KNOW HOW!!!!!

So you see my quandary.

Soooooo......Can someone point me in the direction of cheap manual labor who can do a impeccable job and complete said job without second-guessing me or trying to coerce me into doing something that I don't want to do or have done and will finish the repairs yesterday with a smile on his face? Oh, it wouldn't hurt if he looks like and share's the quick wit of Mike Rowe.

(Sorry, I apologize for being a SA already, but it's late and I'm goofy.)

Ħ°Ƥę£ë§§Ļ¥ ¡ÑƐƤƮ