DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum

DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/forum.php)
-   General Home Improvement Discussion (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/f45/)
-   -   Building inspection timing regulations (http://www.houserepairtalk.com/f45/building-inspection-timing-regulations-14677/)

brasilmom 09-02-2012 12:18 PM

Building inspection timing regulations
 
Greetings,

I am unable to find if there is a regulation that dictate how long a person is supposed to wait for an inspector to perform is work. I had an electrical inspector come and he said he was going to talk to the building inspector to take a look, despite the fact that there is no building going on. So, now we are waiting for the guy to call and on hold to closing the walls, etc. I just do not know if there is a time limit where the inspection is forfeit. The plumber told me that for plumbing it is 48 hours. After that the inspector looses the right to view the work. That is in Wisconsin, by the way.

Thanks. Be well
Miriam

TerryDM 09-02-2012 10:09 PM

Can you call your local building code dept and ask them? Then maybe that leads into the conversation that you've been waiting for your inspector and haven't heard anything....... Be polite. Don't piss off your inspector for your own good.

brasilmom 09-03-2012 06:07 AM

I know, I thought about that, but in reality I feel like inspectors are an interesting bunch. I am afraid of calling and getting them on the wrong side. You see, the electrical inspector was here to see the electrical and he did not even do his job. I think he was the inspector of the inspector or something. I think I may call the State dept. of commerce and try to find from them the regulations. Oh well... When you try to do the right thing, then this is what happens. No wonder a lot of people just do remodeling without never asking for permit. In all honesty after seeing the electrical inspector, I found that the whole permit thing is a joke. At least in my part of the country. Hopefully there are real inspectors out there that do as they are suppose to.
Thank you. I will try to find out and hopefully move along. Be well
Miriam

mudmixer 09-03-2012 10:50 AM

brasilmom (or Brazilmom depending on your ancestry) -

In your part of the world (Republic of Wisconsin) there is a long history of strange standards and codes that only apply there. ASTM standards and national codes were not accepted unless they could write unique requirements in order to keep people busy and confused and insisted on their own unique codes. I imagine that the same applied to code enforcement since they still may be under the sames department. The bureaucracy was overwhelming but it seems it has improved.

Make two calls or contacts - one to the local code official immediately and one to his boss a few days later and explain who said what and when. There is no excuse for having to wait for inspector that dictates everyone's schedule.

No wonder Svetlana Stalin ended up living in Wisconsin near my relatives.

Contacting the local official gives them a chance to do something without going out of there way. Have some coffee and donuts ready IF he shows. By delaying your call to the boss, you are giving the inspector time to do something.

Dick

brasilmom 09-03-2012 11:31 AM

Thank you Dick.

Laws in general are weird in WI. I think this may be the result of excess drinking. I will call tomorrow and see what I can find out. I know that for plumbing the inspector has 48 hours to show up. If she fails to show, than too bad. I am not sure that the same is truth for building inspector.

You know, I may even record the calls, just in case it turns up to get me later.

As far as coffee and donuts, I think I will succeed better if I have beer and brats! No inspector would resist that in WI.

Thanks. Be well

Miriam (brasilmom, as I am Brazilian by birth)

mudmixer 09-03-2012 03:16 PM

brasilmom -

You are living in a state where the laws and codes are generally written and administered in a city that is 1/3 politically oriented, 1/3 college students/professors and 1/3 other people. For some reason, the two beautiful lakes seem to makes things slip by. Communication and the internet have improved the horrendous situation somewhat from what it was 30 years ago.

The 48 hour rule is a concept that was created to give the applicant a possible time with no guarantees. Even Comcast cable even advertises a 2 hour window and only the last 15 minutes of it really means anything

I caught the spelling difference in your name since I have been there several times (Rio once, Sao Paulo 2 or 3 times, and Florianopolis 3 times during all seasons, to appreciate the seasonal changes). Unfortunately I was working did develop some great friendships with locals that has continued through the years.

Dick

CallMeVilla 09-03-2012 05:32 PM

On one project, I had five appointments for inspections blow off by them without a reason. I went to the supervisor, nicely, and he took the project away from them -- with apologies. However, we were 6 weeks behind due to inspectors so we sealed the plumbing (concrete) but took pictures. When they finally ambled out for inspection, they were annoyed but saw the pics and could see we did an up-to-code job. Got signed off on the concrete . . . and then he noticed some minor problems elsewhere which were legit. Got all of it done and it was OK after that.

You take a chance if you do not know what you are doing. They can make you rip it out. Be cordial, be honest, but be clear you reached the end of your ability to wait on them.

brasilmom 09-04-2012 01:41 PM

Thanks Dick and CallMeVilla. The 48 hours is up by the end of the day today so I will wait until the morning to contact the people.

That thing here is that the electrical inspector wants to get the blessing from the building inspector. No building is being done. The bathroom was gutted, but no modification to the layout or anything is being made. However the electrical guy did not want to hear any of that. If he at least did his job I would be fine with it. He did not even inspect all the electrical that was done. Oh well.

Dick, glad to hear you enjoyed Brasil. I am from São Paulo, and hope your visits there were always pleasant.

Be well

Miriam

BridgeMan 09-14-2012 12:00 AM

Miriam,

If you're really sincere about wanting to keep the inspector chute well-greased, make sure it's Miesfeld's brats (from Sheboygan) and Leinenkugel beer. I make a killer simmering sauce for the brats (after they're charcoal-grilled) using fried Zwiebels, lots of butter and the Leinie's. Making me drool just thinking about it (I grew up near Sheboygan).

CallMeVilla 09-19-2012 02:02 PM

We are all waiting anxiously to see what the inspector finally did . . . are you "good to go" or are you "in jail"?

Just askin' :)


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:16 AM.