DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > City making it hard for new investor

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 07:13 PM  
snoop78

Default City making it hard for new investor

I'm new at this income property thing and I just bought a piece of property. The property was sold in a tax auction by the city. The city had a case report done on the property of specific improvements. Some of the work was done when I bought it and the rest unfinished. I know how to lay drywall, flooring repair, etc but because the city has a case report I can not do the minor things because the city wants permits and I'm not on list of contractors. I fully intend to use licensed electricians, plumbers, etc which will file their own permits. My question is if work that was already done that did not have a permit before I purchased the house will the city make me redo or just inspect. Also how can I save money by doing the drywall, flooring, etc myself and not be required to go thru the city. I'm just trying to keep a $10k renovation from being $20k plus. If anyone has anything that can help it would be appreciated.

PS. it is the city of cincinatti, ohio.

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 07:51 PM  
nealtw

Liked 538 Times on 488 Posts
Likes Given: 998

snoop: welcome to the site. Have you talked to the city and asked them for details and how much you can do. It is reasonable for them to want permits and inspections on work done by others that was done with out permits.

Old 01-24-2013, 09:43 AM  
Speedbump
Water well etc.

Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I wouldn't buy anything that the City was aware of. Then they can't tell you how to make improvements. The house is yours until you sell it, so you should be able to do repairs yourself.

There is no common sense in Gubment, so don't even bother trying to have a conversation with them.