DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > Furnace Noise




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2008, 06:28 PM  
mjmondry20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default Furnace Noise

I recently had a new furnace installed in the basement in my ranch-style home. Everytime the furnace kicks on, the two rooms directly on top of the furnace literally shake. It gets rather noisy. I tried putting R-19 kraft faced insulation in between the floor joists directly on top of and around the furnace in the basement. It seemed to help, but not enough. Anyone have any suggestions?



__________________
mjmondry20 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2008, 07:58 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Welcome MJMondry:
The new high efficiency frunaces are noisier because of draft motors and several other things. Yours must be an LP gas furnace and is doing some backfiring during the warm-up. Its time to call the installer and speak with him about some adjustments; no matter how noisy it gets it shouldn't shake the rooms above.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2008, 10:32 AM  
Quattro
Massive Tool Belt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 262
Default

Another thing to consider is adding an isolator on the supply trunk. It's a 2 or 3 inch piece of heavy reinforced vinyl that separates the sheet metal trunk from the furnace itself...greatly reducing vibrations through the supply system. It's probably not DIY, but could be a relatively quick chore for a professional.

This assumes there isn't anything wrong with the furnace itself.

__________________
Quattro is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2008, 02:20 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hey MJ:
Quattro is correct and I'm sorry I forgot the vibration isolation in the duct and any HVAC store can make that for you so you can install it.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Furnace Maintenance Icehouse HVAC 4 02-17-2012 12:32 PM
lux air furnace duane HVAC 3 01-04-2010 07:06 PM
Furnace Advice Needed gunit HVAC 3 01-10-2009 03:17 PM
Attic Furnace Causing Ice Dam HockeyGuy HVAC 3 01-26-2008 06:18 PM
Attic Furnace remodel101 HVAC 0 02-07-2007 11:20 PM