DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > Gravel under slab?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2007, 03:39 PM  
kc2651
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Default Gravel under slab?

i have a house built in 1968 with a full basement i am remodeling. i have a small level of radon i would like to bust up the concrete and install a 4" pipe then exhaust up and out. So here is my question does anyone know if there might be a gravel bed under the slab built in 1968?



__________________
kc2651 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-12-2007, 04:19 PM  
mudmixer
Senior Member
 
mudmixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 582
Liked 40 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 33

Default

There should have been, but you will never know until you get there.

Rock will be necessary to collect radon gas.



__________________
mudmixer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2007, 07:53 AM  
radonguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN, wi
Posts: 10
Default

You do not have to remove your floor to make a radon mitigation system work.

We routinely fix homes where no gravel or even sand was used as a final grade. The key to getting the system to work is to measure the potential for air movement under the slab and then the number of suction points and fan size can be determined.

If want help let me know.

__________________
radonguy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2007, 08:52 AM  
kc2651
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Default Yes Radon Guy

ok sounds good to me Radon Guy you have my attention i would love to have your help with any and all in sight. just to recap 1400 sqaure feet finished basement with a block structure surrounding the basement and two walls being the front and one side underground the other two have brick outside of the block. thanks

__________________
kc2651 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2007, 10:35 AM  
radonguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN, wi
Posts: 10
Default

What's your radon level?

__________________
radonguy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2007, 11:38 AM  
kc2651
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 16
Default

it is around 5 if memory serves me right. i want to add a side note in two of my rooms i have laid a vct tile floor which required some floor leveling with this added mortar and tile does that help block radon from entering?

__________________
kc2651 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2007, 05:11 PM  
radonguy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN, wi
Posts: 10
Default

It would have helped if there were some large cracks that you sealed. But most of the radon likely enters up through your block walls.



__________________
radonguy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Slab leak Dragonlady Plumbing Forum 2 01-06-2009 04:09 PM
Repair or replace cracked original garage slab ofsoundmind Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 1 09-09-2008 05:58 AM
Need Advice on Filling low spot on Concrete Slab patio. DebbieG Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 4 06-03-2008 07:33 AM
Wood Flooring over cement slab? EMayo Flooring 3 02-14-2008 12:25 PM
Depth of drain pipe under slab Mudball Plumbing Forum 4 06-10-2006 07:34 PM