DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > How do you reset the toliet?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2005, 09:39 PM  
Randy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default How do you reset the toliet?

I have an American Standard toliet, and the water won't stop after the tank has filled to capcity... What is it's problem?



__________________
Randy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2005, 01:17 PM  
Bathfitter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default reset

Hi Randy my name is Randy.

There is an adjustment that stops the float from coming up to far. Some have a screw others have a clap like adj.



__________________
Bathfitter is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2005, 03:01 PM  
HandyMac
Mac
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 29
Default

You may need to replace the entire filler apparatus. You can buy replacement parts from home improvement stores, hardware stores, and plumbing supply stores.

The newer assemblies do not have a float/arm design, but have a 'donut' float on the inlet pipe. This design is a bit better than the arm/float ball design, IMHO. Thje water level can be adjusted by moving the 'donut' float up ot down on the metal adjusting rod.

It is fairly simple, but the tank has to be drained and all the water dried out. The old filler assembly is installed using a large nut on the bottom outside of the tank. Disconnect the water supply line, remove the nut, and lift out the old filler assembly. There should be a small hose connected to the stand pipe in the tank. You can work it loose from the stand pipe by gently twisting as you pull.

Install the new assembly--with the rubber gaskets in the correct places---the package will have a drawing, rehook the hose to the stand pipe, and install the large nut. Tighten that nut snugly, not tigjtly, as too tight can strip the threads or crack the tank.

Re connect the water line, turn on the water, check for lrasks, and adjust the water level.

__________________
HandyMac is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2005, 04:12 PM  
rrg21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

We bought a brand new "Sure Flush" toilet for around $188.
It has the doughnut type of float assembly.
Right off the bat it would continue to run after reaching the full point, overflowing into the bowl and down the drain.
I tried everything including cutting off small bits of plastic to help make it "seat".

Very frustrating for a $200 brand new toilet.
Finaly it occurred to me to close the water supply valve and then open it about a 1/4 turn.

It takes longer to fill, but with the reduced pressure it shuts off when the tank is full.

Very strange too because there is a prv on the service line set around 60 psi.

__________________
rrg21 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Newly installed GFCI will not reset banterer Electrical and Wiring 6 06-03-2008 12:18 AM
GFI Won't Reset Goose Electrical and Wiring 5 02-17-2008 05:41 PM
GFCI at Control Panel won't reset jim2468 Electrical and Wiring 6 12-12-2007 05:13 PM
Noisy toliet? StumpedTechy Plumbing Forum 1 10-09-2007 08:03 PM
Compressor reset? shovelshort HVAC 2 06-21-2007 12:31 PM