DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > How many electrical outlets for a new kitchen?





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2007, 06:44 AM  
phreaq
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 66
Default How many electrical outlets for a new kitchen?

Well I signed off on my new kitchen design, so now I know where everything will be placed. The kitchen is going to a new location (not where the current kitchen is) so I am going to run electrical cable and hook up some new outlets. My question is, how many? how often? I know you can never have too many, but too many doesn't look right, ya know?

I'll have dedicated plugs for the frigde, stove (I'll run 240, but only need 120 cuz it's gas), dishwasher and microwave (above the stove), so the new outlets will be for things like the coffeemaker, blenders, toaster oven, etc.

Do you guys ever run out of plugs? How many do you have or wish you had?

thanks in advance,

phreaq
Has anyone seen my brain today (^_^)
www.phreaq.net



__________________
phreaq is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2007, 07:16 AM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

When I remodeled my kitchen I added outlets tucked up under the cabinets all along the counter length. It is great for the toaster, blender, cell phone, etc . I can plug in anything within 18 inches or so. I also installed under cabinet lights at the same time. These under counter outlets complement two main GFI outlets on either side of the sink, each on their own circuit.



__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2007, 09:07 AM  
phreaq
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 66
Default

thanks for the idea travelover!

Did you use regular electrical outlets or something else? I'm trying to invision the thickness of the outlets sticking under the cabinets. are they noticiable?

__________________
phreaq is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2007, 07:11 PM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phreaq View Post
thanks for the idea travelover!

Did you use regular electrical outlets or something else? I'm trying to envision the thickness of the outlets sticking under the cabinets. are they noticeable?
I used shallow boxes so they are flush with the bottom of the cabinet. Because the "floor" of the cabinet is recessed from the bottom of the cabinet frame, I was able to use finished plywood from the cabinet supplier to create a smooth underside. I also mounted shallow florescent lights in this plywood.
__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-28-2007, 05:52 AM  
phreaq
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 66
Default

I have a meeting with my kitchen builder later today and will see what kind of clearances I'll be dealing with.

As the cliche says, a picture is worth a thousand words. got a pic?

__________________
phreaq is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-28-2007, 02:09 PM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phreaq View Post
I have a meeting with my kitchen builder later today and will see what kind of clearances I'll be dealing with.

As the cliche says, a picture is worth a thousand words. got a pic?
Sorry, I'm kinda low tech. You'll need to create your own solution based on the cabinets you choose. Take a look at the cabinets from the bottom up and it should be fairly obvious how much depth you have to work with. If you need to squeeze out a little more depth you can use a 1/4 round or other trim on the lower edge stained to match the cabinet.

Good luck.


__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Sudden low voltage from electrical outlets? Harryc Electrical and Wiring 12 04-05-2013 05:43 PM
Open Ground Outlets xiolo Electrical and Wiring 5 10-12-2008 11:06 PM
Tips for Kitchen Improvement kbchome General Home Improvement Discussion 1 08-11-2008 02:28 PM
Can I have outlets and overhead on same circuit... bvz Electrical and Wiring 6 04-25-2008 12:42 PM