DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > Replacement overhead light with no existing ground...




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2009, 10:29 AM  
Harryc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Replacement overhead light with no existing ground...

I have just replaced an overhead light with a chandelier. The old light fixture did not have any sort of a ground, just two wires comming out of the ceiling. The new fixture functions, however I am concerned with not having any sort of ground. Is there some sort of safety that I can add to this existing fixture? Perhaps a new wall switch that would add protection of some sort?



__________________
Harryc is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2009, 11:21 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,139
Liked 92 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

If there only two wires coming out of the box then there's not much you can do that would be worth all the effort. I wouldn't worry about it, a ceiling fixture isn't really in a high traffic area and/or something that someone should be touching on a regular basis. How long was the old fixutre there w/o a grounding problem?



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2009, 11:38 AM  
Harryc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Ok, heres what I did...tell me if you think this is sufficent.
With the power on, I took one of those non-contact current sensors and found that any metal part of the chandelier would set it off.
I then cut the power, and using a long copper wire I separated a collar on the fixture that screws apart and wrapped the wire around the threads. I tightened the collar back down, and then fished the wire through the all to a juction box that has armored cable. I then screwed the wire to that box.
After flipping the breaker back on, the current sensor no longer goes off when placed around the chandeliers metal parts.
Do you think that I what I did sufficiently grounded this chandelier?

__________________
Harryc is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2009, 02:48 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,139
Liked 92 Times on 81 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

I stand corrected, I didn't realize running a separate ground wire was such an easy task for you. This usually involves insulation and drywall damage.
Sounds like your properly grounded and to check this, you should be able to use a voltmeter to test between the new ground and the hot. You should see 120V (w/the power on) if your properly grounded.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
replacement windows and your health John7447 General Home Improvement Discussion 4 04-29-2010 11:29 PM
what do I do with my old storm windows John7447 General Home Improvement Discussion 2 06-29-2009 10:38 AM
Open Ground Outlets xiolo Electrical and Wiring 5 10-12-2008 11:06 PM
2 questions - vanity light and romex with no power rando Electrical and Wiring 5 05-27-2008 06:27 AM
Wiring w/no ground shan2themax Electrical and Wiring 12 05-15-2008 01:29 PM