DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > What's that big black pipe thingy in my attic?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2013, 09:51 AM  
New2HomeRepair
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default What's that big black pipe thingy in my attic?

Hello All,
As you can tell by my username, I'm new to this DIY house repair stuff.
Ok, there's my newbie question:

After 9 years of living in my newly built home I decided to check out the extra space in the "attic" space, above my garage. It's surprisingly clean and and even has electricity with a light bulb and everything...Who Knew?

So, I decided to store some of my stuff (plastic boxes with Holiday, stuff. Not humans or pets or anything that has to well...live) up there to make more room for other stuff I'm sure I don't need, but want to keep anyway.
There's my dilemma:
WHAT is the big Black Pipe (~3-4 in diameter) running through the attic?
And IS IT DANGEROUS?

20131102_161416.jpg

20131102_161409.jpg

20131102_161340.jpg

20131102_161335.jpg

20131102_161331.jpg

There is this "RADON ALERT" thing (hopefully everyone can see the pics I downloaded) that really has me concerned.
I'm worried if we hit it with a box, the house is going to explode or fill the house with "radon" or something! lol

Thanks for any advice anyone can give me!
Have a great day.
PS: If the pics didn't download correctly, I'll try again (I'm as bad with computers as I am with home repair. )



__________________
New2HomeRepair is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2013, 10:58 AM  
bmg97
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

It goes into the foundation floor and pulls the radon from the ground and out through the roof into the air. Hitting it will not do anything but disconnection will cause an issue.



__________________
bmg97 is offline  
New2HomeRepair Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2013, 01:04 PM  
New2HomeRepair
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks so much for your reply.
Now that we're not afraid of exploding ourselves and/or the neighborhood if we touch that pipe, we are thinking of putting a "floor" on top of the studs, so we can walk in it.
So now I'm off to the "how do you put a floor on top of attic studs so you can walk on it" thread! lol
Thanks again and enjoy your weekend!

__________________
New2HomeRepair is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2013, 04:51 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,247
Liked 379 Times on 297 Posts
Likes Given: 154

Default

Yes, you can lay sections of plywood in the attic across (perpendicular to) multiple joists (those stick things you can kneel on). Use common sense ... DO NOT lay the plywood over wires which run on top of the stick things. Pinching those wires is a bad thing.

It is best to use screws to attach the plywood. Hammering could damage your ceiling underneath. A battery powered dril-driver makes this an easy task.

Here is a good video primer:
http://www.todayshomeowner.com/video/how-to-build-a-raised-storage-area-in-your-attic/#tabs-1

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2013, 09:43 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,029
Liked 119 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 258

Default well

The problem is never laying plywood across a joist...but those are Trusses...which should never have additional weight installed across the 2 x4 bottom cord.
Just my opinion of course.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is online now  
bud16415 Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2013, 10:27 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,119
Liked 320 Times on 254 Posts
Likes Given: 106

Default

Those look like 2x4 trusses spaced 24” OC. Putting a few strips on there for use during access would be ok, but if your plan is storage space not a good idea IMHO. If you want to do some work up there insulation might be a better idea.

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 08:55 AM  
Rockrz
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 58
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmg97 View Post
It goes into the foundation floor and pulls the radon from the ground and out through the roof into the air. Hitting it will not do anything but disconnection will cause an issue.
What is "Radon" that needs to be pulled from the ground (like, from under the concrete foundation, or is this house pier and beam?)

Wuz jus curious as to whassup wit dat
__________________
Rockrz is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 05:56 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,727
Liked 796 Times on 710 Posts
Likes Given: 1355

Default

I'm with Bud on this one. Where is the insulation?

__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 06:01 PM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,010
Liked 409 Times on 342 Posts
Likes Given: 132

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw
I'm with Bud on this one. Where is the insulation?
This is attic over a garage. Guess they don't need or want insulation.
__________________
oldognewtrick is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2013, 06:07 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,727
Liked 796 Times on 710 Posts
Likes Given: 1355

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldognewtrick View Post
This is attic over a garage. Guess they don't need or want insulation.
That would explain that, thanks


__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Unknown cement?pipe in attic Vanmaterb General Home Improvement Discussion 3 09-16-2013 08:29 PM
Black pipe for water maverick Plumbing Forum 6 05-01-2013 02:50 PM
My THINGY is leaking! Packy Plumbing Forum 13 02-22-2010 02:54 PM
Pressure Testing Black Pipe jmol Plumbing Forum 3 11-05-2008 09:37 AM
stove - 50 amp White Red Black Black Conduit - 3 hot? where's green? sholleran Electrical and Wiring 9 01-29-2008 11:58 PM