DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > The wrong way to anchor fence posts in concrete




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 09:40 AM  
jjmartin1340
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Keswick, Ontario
Posts: 12
Likes Given: 1

Default The wrong way to anchor fence posts in concrete

Some years ago, a friend was installing a fence. He dug holes 4 feet deep and anchored the posts in concrete. But first he put an 8" Sonotube (a heavy cardboard tube 8" dia., 4' long) in the hole. I had never seen Sonotubes used this way. He said it made the concrete with smooth sides, so when the ground froze and heaved up, it would not lift the post up too. Made sense to me. I never had to install a fence, so didn't know if it was really necessary. Found out last spring it IS a good idea. Saw a fence down the street where they had not used Sonotubes. We had a mild winter, lots of freeze-at-night/thaw-during-day cycles, and now some of the fenceposts are about 4" higher than they were. See photos.



fence-post-concrete-lifted-1-s.jpg   fence-post-concrete-lifted-2-s.jpg  
__________________
jjmartin1340 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2012, 01:04 PM  
BridgeMan
Senior Member
 
BridgeMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cottage Grove, Oregon
Posts: 738
Liked 75 Times on 67 Posts

Default

Classic examples of "junk" concrete work--improper consolidation, cracking, delaminations and missing (or incorrect) top-slope. Sonotubes wouldn't have helped at all.

I've never understood why people spend good money on materials and then don't bother learning the proper basics of how to use them.



__________________
BridgeMan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2012, 03:55 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,902
Liked 814 Times on 727 Posts
Likes Given: 1405

Default

This picture is a good sample of concrete not deep enough. The idea for concrete is to fill the gaps around the post so it drys firm to the undisturbed soil around it. If you use a sono tube you are then going to fill around that with dirt, what's the point.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2012, 05:36 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,261
Liked 385 Times on 301 Posts
Likes Given: 157

Default

While we are piling on (pun) where are the galvanized saddles for the posts? If you are going to the trouble of sonatubes, why not install the saddles so you can easily replace the posts without having to destroy of the old concrete?

Get the guy who did this work on the phone and read him these posts ....

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-06-2012, 07:16 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 250
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

I don't understand using concrete to set a fence post, all my years on the farm we never did. Did not have any come out of the ground that were put in properly, even ones that had a gate hanging off it did not move. Guess people now days just don't know how to tamp the ground so the post does not move or don't want to put forth the effort.

__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-08-2012, 11:54 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,902
Liked 814 Times on 727 Posts
Likes Given: 1405

Default

Blue Jay; I agree 100%, built lots with out concrete but after some people start sprinkling a little dust in the hole and the puplic is convinced it is the only way to go, the rest of us have to go along.
Villa: Have yet to see a saddle that will hold a six or seven foot panel fence.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2012, 12:34 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,261
Liked 385 Times on 301 Posts
Likes Given: 157

Default

Hey Neal . . . strongest might be the carport saddle with rebar into the cement.

http://www.strongtie.com/products/connectors/canada/rcps.html

Another version has two prongs that are pushed into the cement of the sonotube.

saddle.gif  
__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2012, 06:36 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjmartin1340 View Post
4 feet deep
now some of the fenceposts are about 4" higher than they were. See photos.
Is the frost line in your area deeper than 4'?
__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2012, 06:55 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 951
Liked 101 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Saddle would never hold up to the wind forces on a fence. Those things are only for decks.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2012, 10:21 AM  
jjmartin1340
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Keswick, Ontario
Posts: 12
Likes Given: 1

Default

"Is the frost line in your area deeper than 4'?"

This is Keswick, ON, Canada (north of Toronto).
Water pipes, etc must be 4 feet deep, so I assume the frost line is maybe 3 feet deep, probably less now with the warmer winters. The fence in the pictures is a couple of blocks away from me, don't know anything about it. I've been going for walks around the area for 5 years now. The fence was there when I started. It never heaved up until this spring, which is also the warmest winter in ages. Instead of -25C to -35C at night in February, we only had a few nights at -20C, and in March there were many days above 0C with nights -10c.



__________________
jjmartin1340 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Alternate method to burying posts in concrete footings??? vettespeed Decks & Patios 0 04-17-2011 10:58 AM
Concrete fence Mooninite Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 2 06-09-2010 11:51 AM
Wall Anchor troubles obxbound General Home Improvement Discussion 1 11-14-2009 10:09 PM
Adding a roof extension, how to attach posts to concrete? Quattro Framing and Foundation 1 02-18-2008 04:21 PM
Bent Metal Chain Link Fence Posts rnolte General Home Improvement Discussion 1 08-04-2006 08:11 PM