DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Carpentry and Woodworking > Changing trusses to regular attic

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2011, 10:21 PM  
vicksslc

Default convert attic trusses to open space

Thanks for the insight. I'll be hiring an engineer soon to get more details to see if my project is possible. I have a huge pitched roof and the attic open space would easily be 16 x 13 leaving the existing truss sides in place, removing the middle 2x4s and converting to the pic you posted.

Just curious - to get the floor to carry living space load - how does one go about adding 2x6's or so to an existing truss system?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigFL View Post
I'm an engineer and I don't see why you couldn't convert your truss system to something like the "Open Plan" or "Storage" shown in the attached picture.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-20-2011, 11:46 PM  
nealtw

Liked 682 Times on 611 Posts
Likes Given: 1202

The trusses probably span a great open space down stairs, Unless you can find bearing walls and or beams with bearing all the way down to the foundation, I don't think you will be able to do it with out removing and replacing trusses. thw first picture in craigs post is what your after but in hand framed roof you have to support the floor at each end plus the new pony walls to support the roof mid span. I think the 1 floor is figured at about 100 lbs per sq ft and now your adding some portion of the roof load. the engineer is the only answer like was suggested.
The hole house was engineered for trusses and would have been alot more money to build a hand framed roof.

Old 02-21-2011, 11:31 PM  
vicksslc

Default thanks