DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Carpentry and Woodworking > Smoothing Inside (Concave) Curves




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2013, 01:10 PM  
Curmudgeon10
Member
Projects
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 45
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Smoothing Inside (Concave) Curves

I am building an arched valance for our kitchen window in front of the sink. The bottom rail provides the arch. Simply for stability, the rails and stiles are 3/4" PVC, and the two raised panels will be MDF.

I've managed so far to layout the curved rail on the PVC and rough cut it. I've also smoothed the top side of the arch down to the layout line using primarily my belt sander but also some handwork. Now the question is how to smooth the underside of the arch, the "inside" or concave portion.

The radius of this curve is about 6'6", (the arc itself is about 5' wide), gradual, but not so gradual that I can put the belt sander to it and not risk gouging places to the rear of the belt or digging in too much in the front.

Anyone have any suggestions how to smooth this curve? It would be the same challenge if built from wood.



__________________
Curmudgeon10 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 06:20 PM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,275
Liked 393 Times on 306 Posts
Likes Given: 161

Default

Send a pic or two ... I have an idea ... but I need to see the layout to make sure.



__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 09:06 PM  
poppa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

In the past I've used screen molding to bend over the bottom to cover the sawed edge. Assuming that's what your talking about.

__________________
poppa is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2013, 12:28 PM  
Curmudgeon10
Member
Projects
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 45
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Since posting this, I've made a couple of decisions: a) I'm dropping the PVC. Not because I don't like it; I've made a number of projects from it. It's too MESSY. b) I'm going to use Poplar, and I've decided to set up a jig with my router on the inside radius first, and then route the outside curve next. Setup is a pain but it should give me an acceptable result.

If routing the full thickness material is a problem, I'll use the same jig to make a template from hardboard, and then use a flush cutting bit on the router to true the poplar to the template.

__________________
Curmudgeon10 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2013, 12:50 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,277
Liked 850 Times on 759 Posts
Likes Given: 1466

Default

What you needed was a drum sander, You could have set the belt sander on it's side and clamped it in place on a table big enough that you can slide the work past the sander and only use the front or back wheel of the belt sander. Best is to make a sample of half the length. When your happy with that you copy it with the router, now you have the two matching peices that you tack to your good wood and cut it out with the router.

drum-sander.jpg   duplicating.jpg  
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2013, 11:34 AM  
Curmudgeon10
Member
Projects
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 45
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I found the radius on my belt sander and the radius of the largest sanding drum on the drum sander to be too small to do very smooth work on this 6' - 6" radius. I'm going ahead with the router mounted on a 6'- 6" radius swing arm. Just checked with a cabinet maker who is doing my kitchen makeover, and he said that is what he does when doing "radius work."

__________________
Curmudgeon10 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2013, 12:53 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,277
Liked 850 Times on 759 Posts
Likes Given: 1466

Default

Set it up plus 1/16" and then reset to get a nice smooth pass.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2013, 02:04 PM  
Curmudgeon10
Member
Projects
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 45
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

OK, thanks, good idea.



__________________
Curmudgeon10 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Smoothing rough concrete jdsmith61 Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 3 10-16-2011 03:42 AM
Smoothing concrete mdougsr Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 2 08-31-2010 04:34 PM
Smoothing a rough concrete finish? marin guy Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 2 09-22-2008 02:45 PM
Smoothing Walls Imacarguytoo Walls and Ceilings 3 08-03-2008 01:08 PM
Smoothing rough concrete slab WilliamC Framing and Foundation 1 02-19-2007 12:53 AM