DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > AC not blowing




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-19-2010, 05:56 PM  
katiekins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default AC not blowing

So this afternoon I realized it is not blowing out. Its taking in at the intake site, but not blowing anything out of the vents. Our house is only 5-6 years old. We have lived here maybe 4. We've never had any problems with the AC, so never done anything to it. Outside coils look fine. Have not been upstairs. Breaker is fine. Any ideas?



__________________
katiekins is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 06:08 PM  
oldognewtrick
Moderator
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
oldognewtrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 5,048
Liked 416 Times on 347 Posts
Likes Given: 135

Default

Katiekins, first off welcome to House Repair Talk.

Now why are you so sure that the unit is pulling air? Is there a lot of ice on the condensor coil? Do you have duct work in a crawl space that an animal may have gotten to and chewed a hole in a trunk line. A little more info would be appreciated. Feel free to post pics of the unit and ducting.



__________________
oldognewtrick is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 06:13 PM  
katiekins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I didnt see any ice at all on the coil. Right before I noticed it went out I felt it pulling air at the site of the intake. No everythings in the attic. I dont think anyones been up there at all for months. I just went up there, and i dont really know what to look for. Its a Trane . I can post pics what else would be helpful?

__________________
katiekins is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 06:14 PM  
katiekins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

I might be wrong about the pulling air, I mean im not a handy woman or anything. LOL. But its 85 in here, and its hot. Any suggestions about what i could do would be great, thanks

__________________
katiekins is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 06:17 PM  
katiekins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

thanks for the welcome btw

__________________
katiekins is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 07:35 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,037
Liked 119 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 269

Default hmmm

When is the last time the filter was changed on the unit in the attic...where nobody goes?

Look for a small panel that can come off near where the ductwork and unit meet.
How to change furnace filter - Filters America.com
Try this site or google your own, and hope this helps.

__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 07:40 PM  
gatorfan
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 56
Default

Sounds like you have a split unit with a compressor outside and an air handler in the attic. If your compressor is running, your thermostat is correctly calling for cool, so that's probably not the issue. My guess is there's a dedicated breaker for your air handler that has tripped, disabling it. Note that there may be two breakers just for the air handler (and a third for the compressor)-- mine has one in the panel and an extra one in the attic, mainly meant as a maintenance shutoff I believe.

You might also check to see if the overflow pan below the air handler has water-- in so, there should be a sensor that's detecting this and disabling operation. In my case there are two sensors, a flow sensor on the overflow valve and a float sensor on the bottom on the pan. I know this because one recently went bad and disabled my a/c too. I had to pull them out of the circuit to get things going-- got a replacement ASAP, but I was willing to risk an overflow to get some cool air!

Matt

__________________
gatorfan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 07:46 PM  
katiekins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Changed filter last week. Yes we do gator have the split unit. We turned fan on and it wont run outside. We checked breakers and nothing, flipped them back and forth just in case. Still not coming on

__________________
katiekins is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 07:56 PM  
katiekins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
Default

fan wont even come on

__________________
katiekins is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2010, 08:07 PM  
gatorfan
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 56
Default

OK, let me make sure I understand what's going on. First, a few notes. The outside unit does not have any connection to air blowing or not inside, it unit just receives the coolant, removes heat from it, and sends it to the air handler in the attic. The air handler in the attic has the fan which circulates air in your house-- it passes the air over over pipes filled with coolant (vast oversimplification) chill the air. The "fan" on the compressor outside just pulls outside air through the outside unit only-- it doesn't do anything to inside air.

OK, troubleshooting steps.

If you turn the a/c as low as it will go and leave the fan on auto, what happens on both the outside unit and the inside unit? You may need to leave it there for up to five minutes before anything happens due to built in delays. If the outside unit fan comes on, that means the compressor has power and is receiving the cool signal correctly. If not, it doesn't matter what the inside unit is doing, and you probably have a power problem on the compressor or a bad thermostat (or control wiring). Depending on how the wiring is set up, you might also have a bad sensor as I mentioned in my first post, but that's a tricky one to diagnose w/o a multimeter.

Next step, if the compressor outside (fan) turns on but the air handler in the attic isn't blowing at all, leave the thermostat set to max cool and turn the fan to "ON". This will circulate air no matter what the temp. If no air still blows, there's probably a power problem to the air circulator.

If air blows but it never gets cool, there's a problem in your coolant system and you'll definitely need a HVAC tech to resolve. I'm still thinking there's an extra breaker somewhere that's tripped. I'd go up in the attic and see if you can find one. Take a look at your overflow pan too while you're up there to make sure it's not full. If your condensation line is clogged, that can lead to an overflow which then leads to a shutdown.

Matt



__________________
gatorfan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
blowing in fiberglass DIY mayhem69 Insulation and Radiant Barriers 14 03-22-2011 07:54 PM
my roof is blowing away! mayhem69 Roofing and Siding 10 01-26-2010 03:43 PM
AC not blowing cold air max937 HVAC 4 07-31-2008 09:59 AM
AC blowing out hot air nguyenb73 HVAC 8 05-22-2007 01:03 PM
Fan blowing, no heat Mike in NJ HVAC 0 10-15-2006 11:16 AM