DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Amana 90% Furnace Problem - kok328 help?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2010, 05:33 PM  
spitracer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Well I did it, I called a tech in from the place that installed the furnace 12 years ago....... he was somewhat puzzled. Finally he said he needed to go up on the roof because he really felt that the exhaust was somewhat blocked as the fire box was warmer than he felt it should be.

The exhaust and intake utilize a single pipe when it goes through the roof....a concentric fitting (sp). For those that don't know, this is a cone shaped pipe with the point sticking up with the exhaust exiting the center and the intake coming from the bottom side of the cone.

So he climbs up the roof 10/12 pitch 2 stories! He comes down and I ask him if he learned anything...He says yes. Apparently when they installed the furnace and the PVC runs they crossed them and the intake was sucking from the center and the exhaust was exiting from the intake air port

With the new inducer motor this was enough to trip the pressure switch.

So they will be fixing this issue shortly and I suspect for free

I doubt that I would ever have figured this out!

One question does bother me has this mess up been allowing poor quality air to circulate in our house for the last 12 years?

Thanks for your help!



__________________
spitracer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2010, 07:57 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Glad you were able to find the problem, I never would have been able to help you remotely and a 10/2, 2-story roof is out to the question for me. That is a really weird problem in that the system has been working fine until now. Sounds like the screw up on installation could have been somewhat fatal and yes, your makeup/combustion air may have been comprimised.
However, you now have some spare parts being that the old pressure switch was most likely not defective. The only advice I would provide you is that you invest in a CO2 detector for your home. It's cheap insurance just like a smoke detector. Keep in mind that CO2 dectors do have expriation dates.
I hope he gets it fixed ASAP, we're supposed to get dumped on with snow for the next 2 days and going onto the roof will be out of the question for him too.



__________________

Last edited by kok328; 02-08-2010 at 08:00 PM.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2011, 08:32 PM  
Mithelen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Morristown, IN
Posts: 1
Default

I just wanted to add to this old thread. The previous posts in this thread were very helpful in resolving the same problem that my neighbor was having with the same furnace. It also would work fine if the lower door was removed.

But, what we found to be the issue was one of the silicone hoses that goes from the inducer housing to the pressure sensor had cracked and broken half way apart. Replacing the hose resolved the issue. Just something else to check for if someone else encounters the same issue.

__________________
Mithelen is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2011, 07:10 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 3,936
Liked 96 Times on 82 Posts
Likes Given: 189

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mithelen View Post
I just wanted to add to this old thread. The previous posts in this thread were very helpful in resolving the same problem that my neighbor was having with the same furnace. It also would work fine if the lower door was removed.

But, what we found to be the issue was one of the silicone hoses that goes from the inducer housing to the pressure sensor had cracked and broken half way apart. Replacing the hose resolved the issue. Just something else to check for if someone else encounters the same issue.
Thanks for the follow up, I'm sure it will help someone else.
__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Amana Furnace Blower problem MILL123 HVAC 3 09-26-2012 02:02 PM
Amana Furnace not igniting automaticly xtc4youtoo HVAC 3 02-09-2011 10:19 AM
furnace problem letony General Home Improvement Discussion 1 10-24-2009 11:22 AM
Amana furnace, no heat, red light blinks 3 times, fan works. azjost HVAC 1 04-09-2008 04:12 PM
Gas Furnace problem mekanic Introductions 3 04-14-2006 06:08 PM