DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Basement too hot




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2010, 04:26 PM  
spfauls
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default Basement too hot

I recently had a dual zone heating system installed in my basement. For the past two months I have not had the heat on in the basement at all and it has been hot as the temperature has been in the 70's and the mechanical room where the furnace is in the 80's. All the vents are closed in the basement but the temperature does not go down. The temperature outside has been cold as it has been in the single digits or teens on some days. Upstairs it is set to 68 degrees and the furnace is running constantly. Is it normal that the basement would be this hot with the heat off down there and the vents closed or is something wrong? My last heating bill was over $300. I am concerned that I am overheating my basement and cannot find a way to keep heat from escaping down there.

Thanks for any insight anyone can offer.



__________________
spfauls is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2010, 04:32 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_MODERATOR.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,077
Liked 124 Times on 104 Posts
Likes Given: 304

Default well

Sounds like a thermostat issue. And possibly some duct leaks.
Do you have a thermostat installed downstairs?



__________________

Just My
Made in the

inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2010, 08:35 AM  
spfauls
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default thermostat

Yes there is a wall mounted thermostat but the temperature never gets low enough for it to turn the heat on downstairs. The temperature is accurate as I have used another portable thermostat to confirm. Someone else has suggested it may be the ducts leaking, too.

__________________
spfauls is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2010, 11:11 AM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 250
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Could one of your thermostats be set for cooling or be wired backwards? Possible the basement one keeping the furnace running.

__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2010, 12:26 PM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

If you recently had something installed, I'd contact the installer and explain the problem. Maybe they could help you out.

If the vents are closed downstairs, you're losing a lot of heat somewhere. Is there any air coming from the seams in the duct work?

we've had high heating bills ($280) and I live in Iowa with similar temps. Make sure you check your furnace filter.....dirty ones can drive the cost WAY up.

__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2010, 01:02 PM  
TxBuilder
HRT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
TxBuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,677
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I would say contact the installer it sounds like an issue on there end.

__________________
TxBuilder is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2010, 03:13 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spfauls View Post
Is it normal that the basement would be this hot with the heat off down there and the vents closed or is something wrong?

My last heating bill was over $300.
This is the opposite of the Stack Effect so something is definitely going on.

How many sq. ft. is your basement?

Assuming it's a natural gas furnace, how many therms or cu. ft. of gas did you use for your $300? This info should be on your bill somewhere.
I pay about a dollar per therm but 10% of my usage goes to the water heater.

Do you have a Web link to your particular system so I can see the spec's?


__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 01-20-2010 at 03:16 PM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On