DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Can I attach filter to intake vent?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2010, 07:38 AM  
ilyaz
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 94
Likes Given: 10

Default Can I attach filter to intake vent?

I have three 12"X12" intake vents in my house. I am curious: is it possible to attach a small furnace filter to the inside of an intake vent to have another barrier against dust? Are there filters specifically designed for intake vents? What will happen if I take a regular filter (e.g. Filtrete 12 In. x 12 In. x 1 In. Micro Allergen Reduction Air Cleaning Filter in Red - 9810DC-6 at The Home Depot) and duct tape it to the inside of the vent cover? Thanks.



__________________
ilyaz is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2010, 08:59 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 95 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

A better solution would be to have your ducts cleaned. The main furnace filter should be adequate filtration to prevent the distribution of dust particals.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2010, 12:02 PM  
ilyaz
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 94
Likes Given: 10

Default

Right now we're in the middle of a kitchen remodeling. During demolition there was a lot of dust. Unfortunately, we forgot to cover the intake vents and so our ducts are pretty dirty now, and we feel it even with MERV 11 rated furnace filter. Come spring, we'll have pollen and other crap get into the ducting too, and we have allergies. Of course we can do duct cleaning but it's expensive, requires special arrangements and can't be done as often as we change a furnace filter. If the additional filters strain the furnace and AC system, how can we calculate whether our system is powerful enough? If we decide to get a new furnace -- ours is very old -- then how much additional power should we add to account for the additional load?

__________________
ilyaz is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2010, 03:43 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 95 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Take a look at this posting. Not sure how you would calculate all this information that's why I recommended a more practical solution.

http://www.houserepairtalk.com/f8/air-filter-orientation-question-8776/

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2010, 09:51 AM  
Frostbite
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 10
Default

Don't think its a good idea, it'll slow the air speed way down since its too far from the fan. Its like trying to breath through a mask, you'll be huffing and puffing but only getting half of the air. I have done a "flush" of the HVAC system before but only on large commercial building with pretty heavy duty equipments, in those cases the fan is cranked waay up and the system run at a much higher rate for a day or so, never done it in residential so I am not sure if it is possible there.

__________________
Frostbite is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2010, 09:40 AM  
samw334
New to Home Repair
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
Default

I would say call your local HVAC guy and see what they say.



__________________

Just bought a DIY [URL="http://www.chimneylinerexpress.com/chimney-liner"]chimney liner[/URL] for my home.

samw334 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Strange question about intake vent? Hamlet123 HVAC 2 03-08-2010 09:58 AM
Fresh-air intake question RyanBruner HVAC 10 11-02-2009 05:38 PM
Thermostat line running through duct intake ITParalegal HVAC 4 09-10-2007 11:28 AM
Adding fresh air intake to existing Furnace... harleysilo HVAC 3 01-25-2007 02:52 PM
How do I attach a kitchen sink to abs pipe? WalterSobcheck Plumbing Forum 1 06-10-2006 07:16 PM