DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Cant figure this out! Not getting 24v at the board or thermostat




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2013, 07:09 PM  
jayrod
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Likes Given: 1

Default

Connected the wires together to bypass that burned solder point and it works! Sort of. The fan runs in all modes now but the outside unit doesn't want to come on. Usually after I set it to heat the outside unit comes on after a few minutes and that's when it actually starts heating. Now its not coming on. Uughhhh!



__________________
jayrod is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2013, 08:29 PM  
jayrod
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Likes Given: 1

Default

Okay it finally came on outside but didn't stay on long enough to heat up anything. It kept getting louder and louder outside and then it just shut off. Doesn't sound good. The compressor felt very hot.

Edit - It seems to be working like it always has over the years. This thing has always taken a while to heat this house but then again its 3400 sq. ft.

Its just so loud outside! Sounds like a train.



__________________

Last edited by jayrod; 10-28-2013 at 09:07 PM.
jayrod is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 06:50 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,219
Liked 838 Times on 749 Posts
Likes Given: 1453

Default

Are you sure the load unit hasn't got some other problem that would cause it to draw more current than it should and maybe play havick on other components. Perhaps it has a shut off for hi heat.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 07:50 PM  
jayrod
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
Are you sure the load unit hasn't got some other problem that would cause it to draw more current than it should and maybe play havick on other components. Perhaps it has a shut off for hi heat.
The unit is pretty darn old, and that's about all I can tell you. Once it actually gets cold around here, Ill see how it does. Its still in the 80's here in south Ga. We only use this unit in the winter time because its downstairs, and heat rises. It had one of those thick jackets around the compressor. Should I remove that? It hardly ever freezes here.
__________________
jayrod is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2013, 10:22 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,219
Liked 838 Times on 749 Posts
Likes Given: 1453

Default

With this stuff, I do better asking questions more than answering them.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2014, 08:23 PM  
Jcastrence
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Default

Hey guys, I had a similar problem, the board is not getting 24v out from the transformer, bit the transformer is getting its 120v. So far I had the luck of buying two bad transformers not putting out 24v bit 11v. What are the odds of that right! So my question is there another problem why the transformers are going bad, the board is getting its efficient 120v to and out from the board and to the transformer. Help please.

__________________
Jcastrence is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2014, 08:53 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

There's a partial short/overload in the circuitry fed by the transformers that is pulling enough amps (maybe around 3A) so that your transformers can only supply 11v and then they fail due to overheating, not from some fault within themselves.

Check the current draw with a clamp-on ammeter; voltage is only half the story.

__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 01-03-2014 at 08:55 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2014, 09:20 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,215
Liked 352 Times on 282 Posts
Likes Given: 113

Default

Are you checking voltage on the transformer secondary with it open (not connected)?

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2014, 06:51 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,194
Liked 107 Times on 94 Posts
Likes Given: 64

Default

Do yourself a favor and replace it with one that has a manual overload reset built in.
Where are you checking for voltage on the secondary of the transformer?
Is there a fuse on the circuit board that is bad?



__________________

Last edited by kok328; 01-03-2014 at 06:54 PM.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Board Games Austin General Chit-Chat 44 03-18-2013 09:53 PM
Rookie on board trok10 Introductions 1 11-12-2011 05:54 AM
Wet ceiling, trying to figure out what caused it tgillespie Walls and Ceilings 0 10-21-2009 09:16 PM
New to the board Barry M Introductions 1 09-30-2007 07:51 PM
Making a light board ( basicly like a sound board) for studio colepittman Electrical and Wiring 0 08-04-2007 02:27 PM