DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Cleaned AC Coils on Outdoor unit and now airflow is weak




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2014, 07:09 PM  
asantodo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Unfortunately I don't have a before pic but it was dirty. I probably pushed the dirt from the inside out. The grate around the coils look like it trapped some of the dirt. What would be the best method of taking that dirt out?



__________________
asantodo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2014, 03:40 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,179
Liked 104 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

I got bad news. If these are your "after" pics, then the coils are still not clean. You should be able to see through the coils when they are clean. More bad news. The condenser coils have absolutely nothing to do with air flow velocity.

Nealtw, the furnace fan is 110V, the condenser is 220V, no 2-pole involved with the air handler end of this.

Possibly a switching relay has gone bad and the fan is not running on the proper speed. I believe it is a 3 or 4 speed fan.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2014, 03:46 PM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

I'm not him, he's not me

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
no 2-pole involved with the air handler end of this.

Possibly a switching relay has gone bad
Normally, no, but this situation is not normal so I'm thinking a spurious current path caused by a failed component or open neutral.

So it's a coincidence?
__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 06-17-2014 at 06:06 PM. Reason: neutral is the circuit "ground" for 120-0-120
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2014, 05:20 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,681
Liked 786 Times on 701 Posts
Likes Given: 1349

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post

Nealtw, the furnace fan is 110V, the condenser is 220V, no 2-pole involved with the air handler end of this.
I think you ment Wazzut and if it was 220 and one breaker went all would stop anyway.
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2014, 10:04 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,179
Liked 104 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Sorry guys, had a long day.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2014, 07:38 PM  
asantodo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Hi guys just wanted to give an update. It appears that I was low on freon and needed 2.5 pounds added. My evaporator coil was frozen so the technician suspected the freon issue. I may have a leak somewhere because I had to get my freon recharged 3 years ago. I hear it is expensive to diagnose and fix a leak correct? Anyways my AC is running just fine, good flow of air and very cold. I guess it was a coincidence from cleaning the coils and issue which fortunately led me to call the contractor.

__________________
asantodo is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 08:02 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,179
Liked 104 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Thanks, you had us all stumped. We thought you had impaired air flow. Come to find out your A/C just isn't cooling. I remain, it doesn't matter what is wrong with the condensor coils or even the entire condenser unit, it has absolutley nothing to due with air flow velocity other than a trivial warm air flow versus cold air flow veloctiy.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
asantodo Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2014, 08:49 AM  
Wuzzat?
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,328
Liked 167 Times on 154 Posts
Likes Given: 94

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asantodo View Post
. . .very cold. . .
For the next HVAC problem, use a thermometer now to measure the temp of conditioned air out of your registers, vs. the temp of just moving air. Record these numbers.


__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
asantodo Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Can you paint the fins of the A/C outdoor unit TGrayson HVAC 9 07-07-2012 12:44 AM
Goodman Indoor Unit Rusty Coils TxBuilder HVAC 4 04-10-2012 06:49 PM
Gas furnace weak flame entoto HVAC 1 11-30-2010 07:01 PM
weak hammer drill, bad bits, or ? Dave928 Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 13 06-26-2010 11:13 PM
AC install advice, to mount or float outdoor unit. mister_p HVAC 1 03-08-2006 05:54 PM