DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Connect Honeywell RTH8500 D Thermostat to Trane XE90





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2011, 06:17 AM  
Fitmiss
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Default Connect Honeywell RTH8500 D Thermostat to Trane XE90

I am a new home owner. I have removed the old standard Trane thermostat and replaced it with a Honeywell Programmable Thermostat RTH8500D. I believe I connected it correctly but the inside temperature is not matching the set temperature. I know the heater is on and have seen the pilot lit. I feel heat coming through the vents but my setpoint is 66 and the inside temp only registers 61.

There were 4 wires; red, white, yellow and green. I connected them to the corresponding colors (conventional heating/ac) on the new thermostat. I'm just wondering if I did something wrong. I don't believe I have a heat pump which is a different connection.

Question is why inside temp does not match setpoint after several hours even though heater is on? By the way, the filter is new and the red blinking light on the system is constant which I believe indicates the furnace is functioning correctly.



__________________
Fitmiss is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2011, 05:17 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Connect Honeywell RTH8500 D Thermostat to Trane XE90

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fitmiss View Post
I am a new home owner. I have removed the old standard Trane thermostat and replaced it with a Honeywell Programmable Thermostat RTH8500D. I believe I connected it correctly but the inside temperature is not matching the set temperature. I know the heater is on and have seen the pilot lit. I feel heat coming through the vents but my setpoint is 66 and the inside temp only registers 61.

There were 4 wires; red, white, yellow and green. I connected them to the corresponding colors (conventional heating/ac) on the new thermostat. I'm just wondering if I did something wrong. I don't believe I have a heat pump which is a different connection.

Question is why inside temp does not match setpoint after several hours even though heater is on? By the way, the filter is new and the red blinking light on the system is constant which I believe indicates the furnace is functioning correctly.
don't know that stat, but read your instructions real close. On the back or inside the stat is there any small dip switch? These stats have to work on different systems so there is switches that have to be set for your system.
I now i had a least 4 Hon. round dial that were off 3 to 4 degrees, so i quit using that stat.
Anyway check real close and maybe some one will answer you that knows more about the stat you have. Paul
__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XE90 problem MikeD1980 HVAC 3 09-14-2010 06:13 PM
Thermostat control of Honeywell HE365 Humidifier? skibumdc HVAC 0 09-02-2010 07:27 AM
Trane XE90 Furnace Fan Always On Espritman HVAC 1 08-22-2009 05:52 PM
Trane XE90 TheGunMan HVAC 0 06-04-2009 04:53 PM
Honeywell Thermostat - TH8320 - Touch Screen messageboard General Home Improvement Discussion 1 08-06-2007 08:06 AM