DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Forced Air Electric Wall Heater




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2008, 09:52 PM  
zyggy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Forced Air Electric Wall Heater

My wall heater died, I think because it's too small for the area. I'm thinking about buying Fahrenheat 3000 Watt Large Room Fan-Forced Wall Heater. The specs are:

240 Volts, 3000 Watts, 10,230 BTU/HR, 12.5 Amps

My living area is about 270 sq feet. My question is, how do I know my wiring in the wall is set for 240 volts? My fuse box for the heater is 20 amps.

I don't have a problem installing it myself, I just don't know by looking at the wires that it's wired for 240.

Thank in advance for your help. Oh, oh, one more question, has anyone used one of these? Is it noisy? Is it a good brand? Whoops, guess that was two questions.



__________________
zyggy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2008, 10:00 PM  
ToolGuy
Senior Member
 
ToolGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 482
Default

Double questions are fine, but I can only answer the first one.

Unless the existing, deceased heater is 220, you only have 110. To upgrade to 220 you would have to get an electrician, as you would need a separate circuit for it. If it's already a dedicated circuit and you have conduit, they may be able to pull the wiring through that conduit. But if the conduit is shared by other items (outlets, lights, etc.) then it can't be used for 220. And of course, if you don't have conduit then he can't pull anything and will have to run a whole new circuit. 20 amp is surely only 110.



__________________

[COLOR="DarkRed"][B]~ ToolGuy ~[/B][/COLOR]

[I]Save money on tools at [URL="http://mytoolbox.net"]MyToolbox.net[/URL]
[/I]

ToolGuy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2008, 10:07 PM  
zyggy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the quick response. I looked at the circuit breaker and it has a little bar that is attached to another toggle switch, excuse the name, but I don't know the correct term, both of them are inscribed with the number 20. They are labeled Heater. I also have the same little ones in the bedrooms, but one is not used, and the other is hardly used.

Does having the two linked together make it 40 amps?

__________________
zyggy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2008, 10:55 PM  
zyggy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Update, I took the cover off the heater, it is 240 V. I should have done that before asking. Silly me.

__________________
zyggy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2008, 11:33 PM  
ToolGuy
Senior Member
 
ToolGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 482
Default

Okay then... In my expert opinion, you have 240.

Now maybe someone could share their experience with Fahrenheat products.

__________________

[COLOR="DarkRed"][B]~ ToolGuy ~[/B][/COLOR]

[I]Save money on tools at [URL="http://mytoolbox.net"]MyToolbox.net[/URL]
[/I]


Last edited by ToolGuy; 01-18-2008 at 11:39 PM.
ToolGuy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2008, 08:32 AM  
travelover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 693
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zyggy View Post
Thanks for the quick response. I looked at the circuit breaker and it has a little bar that is attached to another toggle switch, excuse the name, but I don't know the correct term, both of them are inscribed with the number 20. They are labeled Heater. I also have the same little ones in the bedrooms, but one is not used, and the other is hardly used.

Does having the two linked together make it 40 amps?

It is 20 amps at 220 volts. That equals: 20 x 240 = 4400 watts.
__________________
travelover is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2008, 06:12 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hello Zyggy:
The circut breaker you have is two 20 anp 115v tied in tandem which makes a double pole 20amp breaker, which will be sufficient for your 12.5 amp heater. Just remove the old heater, marking the wires for location (use masking tape for labels) and connect the new one the same way.
I doubt the fan will be very noisy; its probably a low speed one just to keep the heat circulating, not blowing your hat off across the room.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Adding an electric garage heater scottman1027 Electrical and Wiring 16 10-05-2009 11:16 PM
determining water heater size, and gas or electric? Philphine Plumbing Forum 4 12-08-2008 03:20 PM
BIG retaining wall is on its way out mjordant Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 5 05-11-2008 05:10 PM
Electric forced air heater will not turn off seattlegooner HVAC 8 02-07-2008 11:46 PM