DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Freon copper in the wall and condensation pump in the attic




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2009, 03:29 PM  
Meldy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default Freon copper in the wall and condensation pump in the attic

I have a 12 year old house and 10 years ago an 2 AC units were installed along with the duct work.

I only have questions about the second floor installation.

I have an air handler in the attic. The copper tubing runs in my walls to the compressor outside. I did not own the house when this was installed. It appears that the copper was installed without opening the walls. My first issue is that I had the house painted and the painter replaced some rotted clapboards. While doing so, he punctured the Freon line with a nail. Are there any codes that would prevent this? Is there supposed to be a metal plate to prevent this kind of issue? I don't know how this could be installed if the walls weren't opened.

Second question is regarding a condensation pump in the attic. Our technician is suggesting we get rid of this. I'd like some thoughts on this. He suggested putting a drain to the gutter.

Meldy



__________________
Meldy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2009, 11:48 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,990
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Welcome Meldy:
The lines in the wall would be better if they were protected from stray nails. At this point of the game, just hold your breath and hope no one else hits the piping.
The condensation pump is subject to fail and allow flooding in the attic. I would prefer a gravity drain but remember to put a running trap in the end of the line to keep insects from entering it and causing a blockage. Also leave some form of inspection access near the unit, leaving you an opportunity to use a snake to clean it out periodically.
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2009, 06:57 PM  
justt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Have the condensate pump wired in series with the control voltage-wired this way if the pump fails the unit will not come "on" and you will know you have a problem- this will happen before it overflows. Also if possible have the pump set inside the secondary drain.

__________________
justt is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
freon Nora Lubich Introductions 1 07-17-2007 02:13 PM
Installing copper pipe PAULYBOY Plumbing Forum 23 07-17-2006 12:13 PM
Recharge Freon In Refrigerator chadwilson7 General Appliance Discussion 1 06-14-2006 06:47 PM
AC keeps losing freon Polly HVAC 8 06-06-2006 09:32 AM
Help: Condensation in garage wall buckeyze Flooring 2 02-23-2006 08:08 AM