DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Furnace Blower just hums





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 09:22 AM  
coldinindy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Default Furnace Blower just hums

The blower motor won't move when it should. If I open the furnace and move the fan the motor works for a while and slows then stops. There is a hum coming from the section the fan is in when the motor should be running. Same is true for either in furnace mode or just fan set to 'on'.
There's a schematic on the inside panel and a spec sheet but neither of them tell me who made the furnace.
Thanks for any help.



__________________
coldinindy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2012, 10:52 AM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,867
Liked 99 Times on 90 Posts
Likes Given: 56

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coldinindy View Post
If I open the furnace and move the fan the motor works for a while and slows then stops.
Run/start motor capacitor has changed value? You can measure it without a C meter in several different ways.

The data printed on the capacitor may be covered by its clamp.


__________________
Wuzzat? is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2012, 06:02 PM  
coldinindy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure how to measure the capacitor. I have a VOM, will that work?
Thanks again.

__________________
coldinindy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2012, 07:31 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,867
Liked 99 Times on 90 Posts
Likes Given: 56

Default

Post a link to your meter
Pick one that you're comfortable with -

if you have a digital meter with 10 megohm or 20 megohm input resistance, discharge the cap with a one megohm resistor from Radio Shack across the cap
charge this combination with a 9v battery
disconnect the battery and time how long the cap/resistor takes to get to 3.3v (actually, 0.368 of the initial cap voltage, which may be as high as 9.6v)
the time in seconds is the capacity in uF
or
wire the cap across the 10v to 24v output of a doorbell transformer
measure the voltage V across and the current I through the cap
then uF = I x 2653/V

For this last one, the more I, the more capacity. For 1 uF and 12v I get an I of 4.5 mA. It also assumes you have 60 Hz power and not 50 Hz power.

__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 10-09-2012 at 07:40 PM.
Wuzzat? is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2012, 10:33 AM  
Daryl in Nanoose
Senior Member
 
Daryl in Nanoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nanoose Bay, BC
Posts: 762
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

WOW wouldn't it be easier just to replace the Motor?

__________________

[url]http://edhome.shawwebspace.ca/[/url]

Daryl in Nanoose is offline  
asbestos Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2012, 11:46 AM  
asbestos
Good with caulk
 
asbestos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 244
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl in Nanoose View Post
WOW wouldn't it be easier just to replace the Motor?
call me lazy, and part of the throw it out generation but I would think about replacing the cap or the motor.

Older Capacitors (1980's and prior) can have PCB's in them
__________________
Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not their own facts
asbestos is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2012, 02:06 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,867
Liked 99 Times on 90 Posts
Likes Given: 56

Default

You are less likely to be chasing your tail and going in circles when troubleshooting if you know the value of the old cap.
And the new cap, if you buy one. Sometimes new parts get instantly destroyed.

Information has value and this kind of info is a bargain at almost any price.

__________________
Wuzzat? is online now  
Daryl in Nanoose Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2012, 11:01 AM  
notmrjohn
Obnoxious Knowitalll
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 251
Liked 24 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

My truck stopped running so I traded it in on a new one. Dealer showed up with tow truck to haul my old one away. He poured some gas into my old truck and drove it away.

If you put a new capacitor on a bad motor you can burn the capicitor up in seconds.If you put a new motor on a bad capacitor it won't run. In both cases you've wasted time and money. New motor can run a couple of hundred bucks.And often is not returnable, especially if you damaged it by trying to run it of bad cap.

The problem may be neither, without checking each part you could wind up will he nill he replacing every part in the unit. A pro will check the parts, he may even try a heavy duty jump start capacitor.

The damage to parts may be caused by another problem, that could just damage your new parts. But in this case my bet is on bad capacitor, usually the case, new none pcb caps just don't last as long, heat gets to them, especially if blower is after heat source. Replacing parts is not fixing anything,
your just a part replacer, where's the glory in that? This is a DIY forum after all.



__________________

[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Measure twice, cut once.[/FONT][/CENTER]
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.[/FONT][/CENTER]
[CENTER][FONT=Comic Sans MS]If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.[/FONT][/CENTER]

notmrjohn is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Help - Furnace CA Blower Trouble MACooke HVAC 3 02-25-2012 11:04 AM
Furnace Blower sk8dog76 HVAC 3 09-26-2011 02:54 PM
How to Take Out Furnace Blower Motor BRIANL00 HVAC 2 09-20-2011 05:37 AM
Blower Not Coming on With Furnace jpstr130 HVAC 1 11-06-2010 09:23 AM
No AC installed, is it possible to leave gas furnace blower on? Gen HVAC 4 08-10-2010 01:48 PM