DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > furnace not working!





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2011, 08:02 PM  
snipe609
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: geneva, ohio
Posts: 2
Default furnace not working!

Hi everyone can anyone tell me about what might be wrong with this furnace it's a armstrong ultra 5 enhanced 95v. we had a repair guy out because it will not stay lit he said it was the flame sensor ,first he cleaned it and he charged my dad $136.00 to come out and find the problem and $88.00 to clean this rod, two days later my dad started the furnace because he has a pellet stove that he uses most the time and the furnace would not stay lit, when the furnace repair guy came back he said that the flame sensor rod was now bad and he would put a new one in for $196.00 but he would not charge to install it. we told him no and we went up to heating and air supply place in town and the flame sensor part was a total of $11.00 but it looks a little different, it's the same length but where the ceramic part is at the top it's just longer but we gave all the numbers to the lady at this place and she said that was the right one but the furnace still will not stay lit. I installed it and at start up the burners do lite but only for about 3 sec. thats it and on the circuit board the leds blink 4times and in the book that came with the furnace it say's open thermal protection switch, but at one point when the funace was trying to lite the led had a continuous flash and the book said a flame signal sensed, out of sequence. so now I cleaned the old flame sensor rod and it's in there now and it still won't stay lit. This furnace is about ten years old just to let you know. so I thought I would ask one of you guy's what you might think is the problem and if you think it's the thermal protection switch where is it located. if anyone can help that would be great! thank you for all the help. steve O



__________________
snipe609 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2011, 09:13 AM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snipe609 View Post
Hi everyone can anyone tell me about what might be wrong with this furnace it's a armstrong ultra 5 enhanced 95v. we had a repair guy out because it will not stay lit he said it was the flame sensor ,first he cleaned it and he charged my dad $136.00 to come out and find the problem and $88.00 to clean this rod, two days later my dad started the furnace because he has a pellet stove that he uses most the time and the furnace would not stay lit, when the furnace repair guy came back he said that the flame sensor rod was now bad and he would put a new one in for $196.00 but he would not charge to install it. we told him no and we went up to heating and air supply place in town and the flame sensor part was a total of $11.00 but it looks a little different, it's the same length but where the ceramic part is at the top it's just longer but we gave all the numbers to the lady at this place and she said that was the right one but the furnace still will not stay lit. I installed it and at start up the burners do lite but only for about 3 sec. thats it and on the circuit board the leds blink 4times and in the book that came with the furnace it say's open thermal protection switch, but at one point when the funace was trying to lite the led had a continuous flash and the book said a flame signal sensed, out of sequence. so now I cleaned the old flame sensor rod and it's in there now and it still won't stay lit. This furnace is about ten years old just to let you know. so I thought I would ask one of you guy's what you might think is the problem and if you think it's the thermal protection switch where is it located. if anyone can help that would be great! thank you for all the help. steve O
In your furnace i don't know what they are calling thermal protection switch, It could be a limit switch or a roll out switch. I would have to see you wiring diagram. paulm989@hotmail.com usually when a unit fires and goes out in a few seconds, it is the flame rod needs cleaning, a little fine sand paper. Check the wire going to the flame rod for breaks or bad spots grounding out. Make sure the the flame is going around the flame rod and not lifting off the burner head. The power has to go through the flame so the flame has to touch the rod and the burner, so do you have a clean pilot or burner? If all this is good then it could be your electronic board is bad
so its not getting proof of flame. Later Paul
__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-30-2011, 11:06 AM  
snipe609
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: geneva, ohio
Posts: 2
Default

thanks paul for the help I put another flame rod in it might be a after market but the lady said all the numbers matched but it still does not stay lit, it only stays lit for about 3 secs then goes out, we did find a bunch of bees dead in below the burners like they fell down the pvc pipe that pulls outside air and my dad found a bee inside one of those clear plastic hoses going to one of those switch's? maybe there's one stuck in there? also I cannot see daylight with a mirror from the bottom of the pvc air inlet maybe a nest in there? I cannot get up on the roof now because of snow. well I will try again today thanks for the Paul have a good day

__________________
snipe609 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
not working drgigglz HVAC 1 01-03-2011 11:29 PM
Furnace Blower (fan) stopped working Wolf2000 HVAC 3 08-05-2010 01:23 PM
hooking a wood furnace to a oil furnace hoarea HVAC 5 09-29-2008 07:12 PM
Rheem furnace stopped working kgsolomon1 HVAC 3 02-10-2008 10:10 PM
IS AC working..... shan2themax HVAC 16 09-23-2007 12:22 AM