DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Furnace shuts off and restarts back up repeatedly




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2011, 05:20 PM  
Christian
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
Default Furnace shuts off and restarts back up repeatedly

Hi all.

Our furnace is doing this thing where it'll start up, run for 1 minute, then shut off. Then rinse and repeat. Sometimes it'll get up to the temp set on the stat, sometimes not. This is a forced air gas furnace, new in 2006.

If I go downstairs and hit the electric kill switch on the furnace to shut the power off, then turn it back on after a minute or so, the problem seems to go away temporarily, but after a few minutes of heat running we're back where we started.

Thoughts??

Thanks in advance for the advice guys.



__________________
Christian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2011, 08:24 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian View Post
Hi all.

Our furnace is doing this thing where it'll start up, run for 1 minute, then shut off. Then rinse and repeat. Sometimes it'll get up to the temp set on the stat, sometimes not. This is a forced air gas furnace, new in 2006.

If I go downstairs and hit the electric kill switch on the furnace to shut the power off, then turn it back on after a minute or so, the problem seems to go away temporarily, but after a few minutes of heat running we're back where we started.

Thoughts??

Thanks in advance for the advice guys.
There are different things that can give you this problem. Is this a 80+ or 90+ furnace. Does it have plastic stacks? What make and model is it?
If you have a thing that looks like a nail by your burners, this would be a flame rod. They get a coating build up on them. Take some fine sand paper
and clean this flame rod.
Are you burners burning good and blue?
Check all hoses on the pressure switches for cracks and bad ends.
If this is a 90+ furnace take off all drain and pressure switch hoses and use a small wire to see if the ports are clear.
Is this a up flow or a down flow furnace
You have changed your filter so you have good air flow?
When the burner turn off , does the blower keep going Or does the burner turn off before the blower comes on?. You need to stand in front of the furnace and give me as much info as you can about when it goes out.
Ok you have things to check and questions ti answer
Also if its plastic stacks, check them out side to see if they are clear.
Later Paul


__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2011, 02:31 PM  
Christian
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
Default

Sorry for the delayed reply...still behaving the same. Would really love some help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul52446m View Post
There are different things that can give you this problem.
Is this a 80+ or 90+ furnace. 80+

Does it have plastic stacks? no

What make and model is it? Mod#: n8mpn075b12a1

If you have a thing that looks like a nail by your burners, this would be a flame rod. They get a coating build up on them. Take some fine sand paper
and clean this flame rod. I also read that this could be dirty and be the problem, but I'm unable to find it. See picture below...maybe you can tell me where to find it?

Are you burners burning good and blue? whey they're on, yes they look blue and full

Check all hoses on the pressure switches for cracks and bad ends. where can I find the pressure switches?

Is this a up flow or a down flow furnace return is at bottom, so flow up?

You have changed your filter so you have good air flow? yes brand new filter

When the burner turn off , does the blower keep going Or does the burner turn off before the blower comes on?.

OK, when it starts up after 'resting' a while, the burners kick on then the blower kicks on and it works good for a while. Once running for maybe 10 mins, the burners go out and there is a bright orange light glowing for a couple of seconds, then that goes out (blower motor sounds like it's still running). Orange light goes out then comes back on and off again another time or 2, then everything shuts off. Just before everything shuts off, there's an audible 'click' noise, and the code light starts blinking as follows:

The Honeywell valve code light (I think that's what it is...the green light on the front of the valve by the on/off switch?) is blinking 6 times, short break, 1 blink, and repeat. Maybe that will help diagnose the problem? In the picture, the light is clear, located on the front of the unit near the bunch of colored wires.

Here's what I'm working with:
__________________

Last edited by Christian; 01-16-2011 at 03:35 PM.
Christian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2011, 03:33 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 95 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Should be between burners #2&3 where those two sheet metal screws are holding the ignitor assembly in place.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2011, 03:36 PM  
Christian
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
Should be between burners #2&3 where those two sheet metal screws are holding the ignitor assembly in place.
That's where I thought it was...but I wasn't sure.

I located it, took it out and cleaned it with light sandpaper, and put it back in. I didn't notice any really significant buildup of crud on there or anything though.

I'll post tomorrow morning on how it worked out. Thanks guys!
__________________

Last edited by Christian; 01-16-2011 at 04:21 PM.
Christian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2011, 05:33 AM  
Christian
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
Default

OK...since cleaning the flame sensor...same as before. No change in behavior. Is this worth outright replacing (they're not too expensive from what I can see).

I also tried changing the batteries in the stat...no change (figured there wouldn't be but we tried that anyways). Could this be a stat problem? How can I check that without buying and installing a new stat? Is there a way to bypass it and 'force' the furnace into heat mode? If it stays on then, it's not the stat right?

Thanks for the help guys.

__________________
Christian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2011, 06:34 AM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian View Post
OK...since cleaning the flame sensor...same as before. No change in behavior. Is this worth outright replacing (they're not too expensive from what I can see).

I also tried changing the batteries in the stat...no change (figured there wouldn't be but we tried that anyways). Could this be a stat problem? How can I check that without buying and installing a new stat? Is there a way to bypass it and 'force' the furnace into heat mode? If it stays on then, it's not the stat right?

Thanks for the help guys.
If you want to jump the stat. , go to your furnace and where the low volt wires tie on, put a jumper wire from r to w and that will bypass the stat and make the furnace run all the time. On one of your door there should be a code for
you blinking lite. Later Paul
__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2011, 09:47 AM  
Christian
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul52446m View Post
If you want to jump the stat. , go to your furnace and where the low volt wires tie on, put a jumper wire from r to w and that will bypass the stat and make the furnace run all the time. On one of your door there should be a code for
you blinking lite. Later Paul
Is there anything else that would help a newb distinguish these wires from the other bundles of wires in the compartment?
__________________
Christian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2011, 03:07 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 95 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

I would only jump the stat in the event that you want to eliminate the stat as a source of the problem. For all other troubleshooting, simply set the desired setpoint on the stat a few degrees above actual.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2011, 03:50 PM  
Christian
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
I would only jump the stat in the event that you want to eliminate the stat as a source of the problem. For all other troubleshooting, simply set the desired setpoint on the stat a few degrees above actual.
Yes that is my plan.

The house is holding steady at 64, but won't heat further than that...so I thought it could've been the stat...but I successfully jumped it with no luck. The furnace did not stay running.

Still in search of ideas! One other thing I'm going to try is to check the exhaust piping to make sure it isn't clogged...that could cause it to overheat also from what I understand.


__________________

Last edited by Christian; 01-17-2011 at 04:22 PM.
Christian is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
20 yr old gas furnace shuts off burners after ignition very intermittant pte88 HVAC 3 12-29-2012 06:30 PM
Gas supply shuts off early amyjamie HVAC 5 12-21-2012 04:33 PM
a/c compressor runs then shuts off izalco1968 HVAC 2 08-08-2010 05:04 AM
Furnace shuts off after a few minutes jkcountry HVAC 8 02-11-2007 11:26 AM