DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > Heating for finished attic





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-15-2007, 01:57 PM  
envoys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default Heating for finished attic

Hello,

The house I purchased has a finished attic that is sort of like a loft area. The one side has access for storage and the other side has access for the heating. Now, the heating and cooling does not get up to this level very well so I decided to investigate. The installation of the piping is 5" steel running from the furnace to the top of the attic, both cold air return and heat/cooling. Ok, now upstairs, when the furnace is on or the AC, there is very little, and i mean very little air coming out of the vents. I crawled in behind where they ran the pipe and found out that they have used some weird pipe I have never seen before, it is 5" insulated pipe, but inside the insulation looks something like a hose you would use on your dryer. The steel pipe comes up from the basement, and is T'd off for 2 vents. The T is very warm when the furnace is on, so I know the heat is up there, not could it be this "insulated" pipe causing me the grief and should I switch it to steel or have someone come in and look at the furnace?

Thanks. I hope I was clear enough.



__________________
envoys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2007, 04:03 PM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,992
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Welcome to the Forum Envoys:
What you have discovered is called Flex-Duct. When it first came out it was stated to be limited to 3' runs, anything more just wears the air out trying to jump over the wires. Yes, you do need to change it out for steel pipe with sleeve insulation on it. The smooth steel will allow the air to speed up to the attic and the insulation sleeve will prevent loss of heat. Let us know how it turns out.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2007, 07:48 AM  
envoys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the info! Designed for 3' runs huh? No wonder why its not getting any heat up there, there is 1 run of 30'! I will be changing this out this weekend and will let you all know how it goes. Thanks.

__________________
envoys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2007, 11:05 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,992
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Hey Envoys:
Just for a "before and after" test; hold a candle near a register with the flex pipe on it then, after the steel pipe is in, hold a candle in the same place. You will be thrilled with the difference!
Glenn

__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2007, 12:18 PM  
envoys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Ok, I will definately do that, maybe I'll do a short video of it for proof...that's if the candle even moves in the wind with the flex pipe on hehe.

__________________
envoys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2007, 10:10 PM  
Daryl
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 80
Default

Possible too that there is to sharp of a bend in the are of change over that it's actually pinching off the air flow. You should have an air flow of 100 cfm at the register opening. I know, not every one has an air flow meter! 100 cfm is enough of a flow you can very easily detect it as movement over your hand. If there are several turns in the pipe between the furnace and the register this will severely cut down your air flow. (especially if they are 90deg. turns. THis causes a whirlwind effect at the turn which restricts the flow.

__________________
Daryl is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2007, 02:56 PM  
hvachawk
Junior Member
 
hvachawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 9
Default

the flex duct can be ran more then 3ft ,but the way they did it is not right .
there must be a kink in it or it is torn in the wall some were.

with out looking at it its hard to tell you what to do ,so if you can post some pictures it will help.

charlie

__________________
hvachawk is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2007, 01:28 PM  
envoys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Ok well I replaced all the flex duct with galv steel pipe, the air flow is still rather low but it is better then before...i will try and explain how the pipe gets up to the attic, it might not be the proper way they did it but you tell me... off the furnace comes a pipe that going to the register in the bathroom, that pipe has a T in it and then off the T is the pipe that goes upstairs...and obviously to go up, there is 1, 90deg on it, when it gets the the attic, there is another T that splits to 2 registers. That's all I can think of for now, maybe you guys can shed some light on this situation why it is so low...the register in the bathroom shoot the heat out like a hair dryer, same with the other registers in the house.

__________________
envoys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2007, 01:41 PM  
Quattro
Massive Tool Belt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 262
Default

Have you tried closing your bathroom register 1/2 way or more to see if that increases flow to the attic? It's a quick and dirty test, but won't solve the problem...and your bathroom will be cooler!

__________________
Quattro is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2007, 02:08 PM  
envoys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I've tried before and it didn't seem to do much, I'll try again with this new piping when I get home from work.



__________________
envoys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Correct way to handle HVAC in attic? pjcampo HVAC 6 01-13-2009 05:52 AM
Attic vents in the dry Southwest RickABQ Roofing and Siding 10 01-19-2008 03:40 PM
Heating My Attic cibula11 HVAC 16 02-09-2007 11:46 AM
Attic Furnace remodel101 HVAC 0 02-07-2007 11:20 PM
Attic venting quigleybmd Flooring 5 07-18-2006 09:37 AM